Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Perfection... After reading several recipes and reviews I decided to try this one because it was the first recipe I'd ever seen that uses brown sugar. I was skeptical so I used 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar to be safe. I was out of butter so I used margarine instead. I also added two tablespoons of Dutch Cocoa and a splash of cold coffee for an extra kick. I was leary about the temp so I used 350 degrees and baked for 30 mins using a 9 by 11 in. pan. I discovered this is the identical recipe as Baker's and Hershey's (on the unsweetened chocolate box) with the exception of the brown sugar. For the first time in my life I had perfect brownies! I will never use a mix again. These took some time but they were worth it, absolutely perfect! Gooey inside and crispy outside just the way a perfect brownie should be. One day I will try the recipe in it's orginal form. I can't wait for my kids to try these. I am topping them with homemade chocolate frosting and m&m's at their request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Turned out great (gooey and fudgy) with a few modifications. First, I didn't have choc squares so I had to use the cocoa powder/butter ratio on the back of the Hershey's box (I picked this recipe because several reviewers mentioned success with this). Second, I couldn't help myself, I added a dash of clove. Third, I used roasted walnuts, and a small handful of semisweet chocolate chips. Fourth, I cooked it for 60 mins at 250, then turned the temp up to 300 for another 20 mins, and they were perfect. I think it is important to have a glass pan. Glass and metal cook very differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Followed recipe to an art except that I changed the baking temp to 350 and baking time to 30 minutes. I also used a glass baking dish. EXCELLENT! VERY SOFT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
These were the best homemade brownies ever! I frosted mine with fudge frosting-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I cooked these as directed @ 250F and they were starting to burn on the edge and were still batter in the middle. I tried again putting them in at 350F and less time and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
They were in the oven 3 HOURS and never did get done! I went back through the recipe and I did nothing wrong...this is the worst kitchen disaster I've EVER had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Great recipe, but the temp. must be wrong because they weren't done that early, had to change the temp. to 350 degrees and cook for 45-50 min. Other than that it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
We were not too impressed with these. Baking them at 250 did not work, the edges were super crispy and the center was still uncooked. The flavor was mild and a little too sweet...not even close to chocolatey enough. I will not be making these again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is hands down the best brownie recipe I have ever tried. It's easy to make, and the brownies are deliciously fudgy. I have to cook them a smidgen more, but if you use a cake tester and keep cooking until it comes out clean, you'll have better luck. Also, I use a Pampered Chef square baking dish, which I really think makes a difference - I had worse results when I used a plain metal baking pan. Otherwise, these brownies are wonderful and get rave reviews from everyone I make them for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Very good brownies, but they weren't very sweet. I will add more sugar next time. Other than that, excellent texture and even better after refrigerating if you like chewy brownies because the butter hardens within the brownies and they are chewier than when at room temp. Oh, and I raised the oven temp to 350 degrees and baked in a metal pan for about 45-50 minutes, until a toothpick inserted came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States