Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
These brownies were good with the adjusted time and oven temperature. Unfortunately, I did not think they were "great". I was looking for a more dense texture in lieu of the cake-like texture that resulted from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This was a nice gooey brownie that was halfway between cake and fudge. It had that nice crusty brownie topping, too. I made it with my boyfriend and his roommates were drooling over them. We baked it at about 325° for 45 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Great tasting, but I question the baking temperature. Shouldn't that be more like 350 degrees?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was the perfect consistency--just what I was looking for in a brownie. Since I didn't have unsweetened chocolate baking squares, I used the recipe on the back of the Hershey's cocoa can for the eqivalent of baking squares. That probably was the stem of the lingering bitter cocoa taste, so next time (if I don't have those squares available), I will use less cocoa. I also used milk chocolate chunks to add a bit of flavor in lieu of the walnuts. I served it with vanilla ice cream for afters at a dinner I just hosted, and they were a hit. Thanks for this recipe--just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is hands down the best brownie recipe I have ever tried. It's easy to make, and the brownies are deliciously fudgy. I have to cook them a smidgen more, but if you use a cake tester and keep cooking until it comes out clean, you'll have better luck. Also, I use a Pampered Chef square baking dish, which I really think makes a difference - I had worse results when I used a plain metal baking pan. Otherwise, these brownies are wonderful and get rave reviews from everyone I make them for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
These were the best homemade brownies ever! I frosted mine with fudge frosting-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
although the texture is amazingly chewy, this is not a good brownie recipe: the brown sugar is definitely overpowering and makes it a sickening dessert. besides, it took me 1 1/2 hour to bake it even after i raised the temperature of my oven. thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
They were in the oven 3 HOURS and never did get done! I went back through the recipe and I did nothing wrong...this is the worst kitchen disaster I've EVER had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
These brownies are really wonderful!! The next time I make them, I'll use a 9x13 inch pan because they took 2 hours to bake and were too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
This makes a very good, fudgey (sp?) brownie--addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States