Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I loved these brownies. they were great instead of unsweetened chocolate I used Kaser pure chocolate (aka: Hersey milk chocolate). I used two bars and melted it over the stove so i didn't burn the chocolate in the microwave. It was great!!! It tasted like home which helps when you live abroad!!! trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I have made these brownies before and love them!! The only thing I change is the temperature. I cook them at 200 degrees for the first hour and then 350 until done. They never burn or dry out and stay moist. The cooking time is longer but it yields a really moist brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Great recipe, but the temp. must be wrong because they weren't done that early, had to change the temp. to 350 degrees and cook for 45-50 min. Other than that it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
The oven temp on these must be wrong. I cooked for 85 minutes and they still aren't done except for right around the edges. The edges are tasty though. Could use more chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
the oven temp has to be wrong. 250? not sweet enough. not rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Wonderful! Served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
These were great! I baked them at 350 for 30 minutes, then 325 for 20. I also added butterscotch and chocolate chips. These came out lightly flaky on top and fudgier on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Very good brownies, but they weren't very sweet. I will add more sugar next time. Other than that, excellent texture and even better after refrigerating if you like chewy brownies because the butter hardens within the brownies and they are chewier than when at room temp. Oh, and I raised the oven temp to 350 degrees and baked in a metal pan for about 45-50 minutes, until a toothpick inserted came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Followed recipe to an art except that I changed the baking temp to 350 and baking time to 30 minutes. I also used a glass baking dish. EXCELLENT! VERY SOFT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Turned out great (gooey and fudgy) with a few modifications. First, I didn't have choc squares so I had to use the cocoa powder/butter ratio on the back of the Hershey's box (I picked this recipe because several reviewers mentioned success with this). Second, I couldn't help myself, I added a dash of clove. Third, I used roasted walnuts, and a small handful of semisweet chocolate chips. Fourth, I cooked it for 60 mins at 250, then turned the temp up to 300 for another 20 mins, and they were perfect. I think it is important to have a glass pan. Glass and metal cook very differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States