Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This made a pretty good brownie. When baked at 350 it turned out just right, though I did follow others' suggestions and drizzle chocolate syrup over the top for that wow factor. Interesting, though, that after a thorough online search, I found almost exactly the same recipe on the back of the Bakers chocolate that I used! (They call them one-bowl brownies, and the directions were clearer with less fuss.) I just clipped that out and will use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
We were not impressed with these Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Hrabik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Wrong temperature. 250 is not enough- must be a mistake. This only results in chocolate goo. I see now reading other reviews that it isn't me- the oven temp must be higher. I have some in the oven and will add 20 minutes more at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Definitely did not work for us :( Temp seemed way too low and wasn't cooking. Even though we sprayed the pan we practically had to use a sledgehammer and chisel to get them out!! When you bite into them, some parts were so overcooked and crunchy that I thought I would break a tooth. Sorry - I see that lots of people had great success with these, but not the case for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Awesome recipe. Did made some changes, as for the baking time, following other reviews. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silmary_cd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Really happy with this recipe. I didn't have any butter (my bad) so I substituted vanilla yogurt. Worked great! Will be making these again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
At 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes: delicious! I substituted a few semi-sweet squares for a few unsweetened ones. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lazy Caprese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe to a T. After cooking them for over an hour.. I think they tasted like molasses and it had to be the Brown Sugar was Tooo much.. I would like to try again with 1/2 white sugar and see if it would help. The texture was perfect, they were fudgey but flakey and moist, It was the flavor that was bad !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly except for cutting the ingredients in half and using an 8 x 8 in pan. I cooked them for about 25 minutes and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These are good the day you make them, but excellent after being stored in an airtight container overnight. I bake them for about 40 minutes at 350. Try it with a cup or so of finely shredded coconut (mixed in right before the flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States