Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My son had a skin lesion biopsied (Came back negative), and I was looking for the perfect treat. I followed the advice of others and used half brown sugar and half regular sugar, and I also baked at 350 for 30 minutes. DELICIOUS!!! My son said they were the best he'd ever had! I'll never make brownies from a box again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I thought two cups of brown sugar would be a bit heavy for this recipe so I used half brown/half white sugar. The brownies backed for an hour and a half and were still runny in the center while the outer bits were done to perfection. Next time I'll bake in a bit larger pan and move the temp up to 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I modified these too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I thought these were SO delicious! I have made them 4 times and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The best brownies we have ever had! I made a few modifications: used 1.5 C of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of organic sugar, added a splash of peppermint extract and baked for 45 minutes at 250 and then 20 minutes at 325. They were so moist and delicious! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I couldn't get these to cook quite right. Because of the other comments, and the picture, I added another oz.of chocolate which I believe helped quite a bit. My family prefers fudgier, chocolatier brownies I think. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
A very yummy brownie! I made these for a family get-together so I doubled the recipie, baked at 350 degrees for 30 -35 minutes in a 9x12 dish, and added fudge icing (combine 1-1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup heavy cream in saucepan over medium heat about 3 minutes; then heat on low for 7 min. without stirring. Remove from heat and stir in 4 oz baking chocolate and 1/2 cup butter; add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, stir until smooth. Chill in regrigerator about 30 min., stirring every few minutes.) Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Just made these and they taste great! Since many reviewers said the cooking instructions were a problem I tried 350 and ended up cooking them for about 45 minutes. At first I tried the cooking time from the one bowl recipe on this site; since this recipe is indentical except that it call for white sugar instead of brown. I checked it at 30 minutes and it was still wet in the middle. In the end I should have taken these out 5-10 minutes sooner. 250 would not have worked, this must be a mistake. I'll definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I've made these brownies at least four times now, and they are the best I've ever made! Crisp on the outside, and moist on the inside. I serve them warm with vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce, and everyone loves them. I will never make boxed brownies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My family thought these were wonderful. I used brown sugar, and I felt they were a little bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States