Granny's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is a bit of a weird recipe. I made to directions, using cocoa powder/oil because I didn't have squares on hand. Beat the batter slightly and it was nice & fluffy. Baked at 350 for 30 mins in a 9x9 ceramic pan. The center was soft but edges just done. I had left to cool on counter and turned off oven. When I cut into them about 20 minutes later the center was still like batter. I popped back in the oven, now off and slightly cooled. The result an hour later was gooey center brownies and cake-like (but still good) outside ones. It wasn't too sweet and it was so chocolatey! Family devoured them. Next time I will try the slow/low cook method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe exact, only switching out pecans for the walnuts. I did bake these in my Perfect Brownie Pan at 350* for a little over 30 minutes. These are absolutely perfect. One of the best brownies I have ever made. The whole family has fallen in love with them.......they're half gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Awesome. I didn't need to change anything. I love the story and I should have taken your advice about keeping them under lock and key ;-; Thanks for the recipe :3 I'll make it again someday~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
With no leavening agent (baking powder, baking soda), this is not a cakey brownie.They're chewy along the edges, fudgy in the middle - so long as they're not overbaked. Just at the the point when you think they're done but you're not sure (toothpick in center comes out ALMOST clean) remove them from the oven. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These were delicious, but I'd say they were about half-way between a cake & a brownie. I'm still in search of the perfect chewy brownie recipe, since my food intolerances eliminate all packaged brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The trick was the brown sugar. For men who dont like chocolate much they loved it with the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These were good brownies. Very chewy, and people said they sort of tasted like hot chocolate. However, I used sweet chocolate instead of unsweetended, and they turned out very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Needed a bit extra time to fully cook but worth every moment......mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOancox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Turned out great! Very moist, everyone liked them. I cooked them at 350 rather than 250 for 40 minutes. Would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Kids loved them!!!! Will never buy box mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Team Ferby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States