Granny's Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is a good standard beef stew recipe, but I thought it would have been better with a lot fewer tomatoes, maybe even less than half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This stew was very filling and tasty! Easy ingredients, I had them all around the house so I didnt even have to go to the store; that's points in my book. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
The stew turned out great...though I did used cubed turkey and chicken instead of the beef...the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe. I through all the ingredients in the crockpot in the morning, and that evening my husband and I enjoyed a delicious meal. I served rye bread too. Rye bread always goes wll with stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
The cook times on this recipe seemed to be quite odd, as the vegetables needed more then even an hour. The flavor was very good, the texture was a little thinner then we like so I mixed a little flour with the juice and added to soup to thicken. Really Enjoyed on this cold winters night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This recipe was good and filling, but maybe could have used a little more seasoning. Will experiment more when I make this again. I put everything in the crockpot and let it cook all day; everything was tender and delicious when suppertime rolled around. This stew is excellent served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
i thought this was great. First time i ever made beef stew right. i did add extra veggies though i love it full of them. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
this is one of the first things i have cooked from scratch, and was very pleased with the out come. put it this way it made all the women in my family shut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe delivers an excellent flavor, but I might call it beef soup. It could have easily been thickened by adding flour or whatever, but it tasted so good we ate it as it was. I didn't have Worcestershire sauce, so I used two cups of boiling Swanson's beef broth. I also added 4-5 stalks chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was a perfect and really simple recipe for beef stew. I added veggies in after only an hour and everything turned out great. Beef broke apart upon touch of your spoon! All you need is a fresh loaf of sourdough and you've got the perfect comfort food for a chilly evening spent indoors. Thanks, Granny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States