Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This bread is SO yummy!! The raisins in it add such a great flavor. It's so tasty for being butter and oil free. It's moist and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Very tasty - my husband went back for more! Lived dangerously in putting this in my largest nut bread pan - it almost went over. Next time I'll make 2 loaves in a regular sized pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This was great. i made this for a track team dinner and everybody loved it. i used only 3/4c of sugar, and left out the nuts and raisins, but added chocolate chips. everybody wants the recipe now! oh, i would recommend only baking for 35 min... or at least checking it after that long so it doesn't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
pretty good banana bread. i made one loaf plain, and one with nuts and Craisins, which gave it a great twist. nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This recipe yields the best banana bread I ever made. It is full of banana flavor yet doesn't have all of the oil and fat that most other recipes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I thought this was a great recipe. It didn't have a buttery taste, but it had plenty of banana flavor. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I added chopped chocolate chips, omitted the spices and substituted 1 cup of a very light whole wheat flour for the white flour. It turned out really well except I slightly over baked it because I hit a densely banana spot with my tester and erroneously thought it wasn't yet done. It's a good recipe -- lower fat or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Theresa, this recipe was a great find. Your great-grandma certainly cooked with a conscience. Sometimes I add the raisins, sometimes the nuts, sometimes both. Today, I wanted 'sweet' so I added chocolate chips but replaced the sugar with Splenda. These came out so good. This is my forever recipe for banana bread. I agree with watching the cooking times. I had 6 large bananas so I upped the recipe by half and made two slightly smaller loaves. They were done in 40 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Very good....but not like much banana bread. My husband thought it was very good. Will make again...but not when we are in the mood for banana bread.....ps my two year old loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
We love this! I love that it is lower in fat and still tastes killer. I don't understand all the other banana bread recipies w/o cinnamon or nutmeg. I have also used canned pumpkin in place of applesauce and we think it tastes even better! We have never tried it with the optional ingredients, though. Works great as muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States