Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! Like many people, I vary the ingredients. Since my husband and I love dark bread, I use brown sugar instead of white. I also use VERY ripe bananas. Leave them in the fridge for about a week or two until the rind is black. It makes the bananas much sweeter. Rather than applesauce, I use apple butter. Using fresh-grated nutmeg will make your house smell heavenly while the bread is baking. This is also perfect for turning into fruitcake. Along with the raisins and nuts, add a cup of fruitcake mix to the batter. If you add fruitcake mix, it will definitely have to bake for a full hour because the batter will be dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I used 1/2 c white sugar 1/2 c brown sugar. no applesauce, so I used 1/3 c canola oil. I live at high altitude, so I added 3 Tb vanilla yogurt and 3 Tb Skim Milk. Didn't add the raisins/walnuts. Husband LOVED this recipe. next time i will add chocolate chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
With slight variations due to my lack of ingredients required, this recipe is very good. Next time I will make sure I have everything and see how much better it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Used Cake Flour, and cinnamon flavored applesauce to save a step. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This came out much better then expected. Highly recommend this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
this is an awesome recipe for a really healthy alternative to oil and butter banana bread. I really like it and you can eat all you want since the is virtually no fat in it. LOVE IT!!! I added one extra banana so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I thought that it was a good, healthy alternative to the full fat banana bread. I would make it again but with some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I'm a health nut, however the bread itself is not sweet and tastes more like a piece of white bread than banana bread. I added nuts, and that didn't help. Ended up having to cut in slices and toss in cinnamon sugar mixture just so my guests would enjoy it. Make the full fat banana bread. You'll eventually eat the same amount of fat in this bread because you keep tasting it trying to get a "taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Pretty good banana bread. I cut this recipe in half, since I only had two bananas, and made into muffins (made about 12). I also put half white and half whole wheat flour in to up the healthyness. I like that there isn't any oil added, we're trying to eat right! My husband ate about 10 of them since I made them last night. I still prefer zucchini bread though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBadger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Excellent I love it and sometimes add a little more applesauce or a banana. Best yet!!!! Susan Merkel AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States