Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
very yummy, I ran out of flour used 1C flour, 1and1/4C bisquick, left out the baking soda, no nuts and it turned out excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I took suggestion to make two loaves - one loaf I made with raisins and walnuts and the other with chocolate chips (2 cups each loaf). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu
Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
The batter was delicious (we licked the bowl clean) and it was great hot right out of the oven with a glass of cold milk. However, when eating it the next day, it was dense and a bit gummy/chewy. My son, who loves banana bread, did not care for it at all. I found it was better warmed up with butter, otherwise, it is not as good served at room temperature or cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except that I keep my flour premixed 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat. Used one of those single serving applesauce cups as it seemed about the right size. I set the timer for 50 minutes as it said 45-60 minutes and my oven tends to run slow. Wish I'd have set it for 45 minutes, as it could have come out a couple minutes earlier. Still, quite yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I didn't have nutmeg and I love cinnamon so I doubled the cinnamon. I also only had half a cup of sugar so I added maple syrup. I also used 5 bananas like one person said since I didn't have applesauce. I listened to the other reviewers and only baked it for 40 minutes. Actually the edges were a bit hard. I recommend 35 minutes like someone else said and maybe checking it after 20 minutes. It was so tasty though! The bananas were moist and it had an overall good taste. It was my first banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This bread was very good, we can't stop eating it! I followed the recipe except I cut it in half (I only had 2 bananas) and I did use half regular flour and half whole wheat flour. I also did add some choc. chips - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good banana bread. I like that it uses applesauce instead of the traditional butter. I only had 2 bananas and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla, but I added a bit extra applesauce and a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg and it still tasted great. It did get a tiny bit dry towards the end of its life, but that is what I expected for not having all of the added fat. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I've baked many banana breads and Im always on the lookout for a healthy recipe, but I didn't find a keeper in this one. I followed the recipe to a T (omitting the raisins and walnuts) and found this cake to be too spongy and a bit on the dry side... likely because it baked unevenly... It took a total of 60 minutes to bake, and even then the top was still a bit raw, but I needed to take it out to attempt to keep the rest at least edible.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! Like many people, I vary the ingredients. Since my husband and I love dark bread, I use brown sugar instead of white. I also use VERY ripe bananas. Leave them in the fridge for about a week or two until the rind is black. It makes the bananas much sweeter. Rather than applesauce, I use apple butter. Using fresh-grated nutmeg will make your house smell heavenly while the bread is baking. This is also perfect for turning into fruitcake. Along with the raisins and nuts, add a cup of fruitcake mix to the batter. If you add fruitcake mix, it will definitely have to bake for a full hour because the batter will be dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I used 1/2 c white sugar 1/2 c brown sugar. no applesauce, so I used 1/3 c canola oil. I live at high altitude, so I added 3 Tb vanilla yogurt and 3 Tb Skim Milk. Didn't add the raisins/walnuts. Husband LOVED this recipe. next time i will add chocolate chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States