Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I didn't have a few of the ingredients called for in this recipe. So I improvised! I used bananas and prune juice! Yup, I tell ya it tasted pretty good! I made this bread three times and they all turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
frackin fantastic, period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was EXCELLENT! It was very moist and flavorful. The spices were a really nice addition, and you could certainly taste the nutmeg/cinnamon. I hate to have deviated from the recipe, but I only had two bananas, so their contribution was pretty mild. I also did half whole-wheat flour and half regular flour. Combining this with the optional walnuts/craisins, the bread was wonderfully hearty. My family really enjoyed this and I'm sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I just did not enjoy this banana bread. It had no flavor and was so dense and sort of rubbery. Could barely cut it, I had to pull pieces off it was so dense and rubbery. I followed the recipe exactly and I was just unimpressed. I did give it two stars because I enjoyed the addition of raisins, which I would have never thought of with banana bread. I tried to make muffins in cupcake wrappers with the extra once my loaf pan was full, my little girls love to have banana bread "cupcakes", and they turned out awful. Half the muffin pulled off with the paper as they were sealed completely to the wrapper, maybe that was a result of no oil in the recipe, never had that happen before. It was just a bad waste of my ripe bananas and some disappointed girls who had been so excited for banana bread. I should have stuck to the recipe I always use but I thought I'd give an oil free recipe a try as a healthier choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
It's ok. I wanted a lighter option for banana bread but when I compare calories with my favorite recipe on this site ("Banana Banana Bread") they are practically the same. Next time I think I'll try "Banana Banana Bread" and substitute applesauce for the butter and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Delicious! I made an extra healthy version, substituting whole wheat flour, and 1 cup brown rice syrup plus 1/2 tsp more of baking soda for the sugar. My husband couldn't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good recipe for banana-bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Awesome recipe. I made muffins for my boys (they have more fun that way). Baked for 13 min and doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg. They Love them! Excellent for a decently healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I think this was as good as it would get for being so healthy. I guess i'm just use to oil/butter banana bread. It did seem to have an odd texture. But it was good. Might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very good. For a recipe being so easy, you can't beat it. I used 3 bananas and homemade applesauce. Cut the sugar a bit and reduced cook time for 2 small loaves. Very good, quick & easy. SO GOOD warm with butter! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States