Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
The taste is okay, but the inside is pasty and gummy like another reviewer said and not like bread. It seems like there are maybe too many bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I followed the recipe except instead of a loaf pan I used a 10 cup bundt pan and baked it for about 50 minutes. It came out very nicely for a recipe with no added butter or oil although I thought it was a little drier than the traditional banana bread recipe using butter. I did not add the optional raisins or walnuts. I served it plain with no additional butter spread. My lady friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
very moist, my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This version of banana bread cooked up a tad bit tougher than other's I've tried recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The taste is great. My complaint with this recipe has to do with the size of the loaf...way, way too big for one pan. Mine burnt on the outside in order to get it done on the inside. The recipe should specify two pans, not one. But I'm not that upset because banana is not my favorite flavor; we made this just to creatively use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I have been looking for a good banana walnut bread for 6 months! Since I do not eat "sugar" I have been hunting down "sugar-free" recipes, with NO luck! Oh I have found some, but they were not good. This one, well, I liked the ingredients, and decided to try it (did not read ANY of the reviews, since I truly wanted to make my own decisions), and I used "SPLENDA" instead of sugar. I added a cup of golden raisins and the walnuts..and I waited patiently. It fluffed up to a golden brown, it slipped right out of the pan ( I did shorten the baking time to 40 minutes)...and I am more than thrilled with this recipe!!!!! Teresa, Thank you for sharing! Your Granny's recipe will live on thru more than just your family, this one is a definite keeper and one I will pass down as "Granny's banana bread" too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I read everyone else's reviews, but still decided to give it a try....I was disappointed with this recipe because like others said, it doesn't have a real "banana" flavor...it is a lower fat recipe using applesauce instead of oil which I liked...but it didn't have a lot of taste to it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I was excited to try this recipe but found it to be pasty and gummy,I did not like it and my kids did not ask for more. I did not include raisins or nuts(preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This recipe was so good! I did not use optional raisins, but I did use pine nuts in lieu of optional walnuts (I had a surplus). It turned out fantastic! I did brown the pine nuts a tad prior to adding. I used a spring form cake pan and only had to bake this for about 35 minutes (maybe a little less). I did the toothpick test and it was wonderful! So moist and yummy! Thanks for this recipe, I never knew banana bread would be so easy! This will be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
We love this! I love that it is lower in fat and still tastes killer. I don't understand all the other banana bread recipies w/o cinnamon or nutmeg. I have also used canned pumpkin in place of applesauce and we think it tastes even better! We have never tried it with the optional ingredients, though. Works great as muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States