GrannyLin's Barbeque Ribs Made Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Hubs wanted to try boneless country pork ribs, so I thought I’d do something similar to this recipe. I seasoned some ribs with garlic salt and pepper and instead of broiling them, I had Hubs sear them on the grill. I then threw some sliced onion in the bottom of my slow cooker and topped with the ribs. I cooked them on low and after 4 hours one of the ribs was fork tender, so I removed it. The others must have been a bit tougher and I needed to continue to cook them for two more hours. I refrigerated all the ribs until it was time for dinner. We finished the ribs on the grill, heating them through and basting with bbq sauce. We were both really pleased how these turned out, very tender, but still moist. We’ll be doing these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
What a great new way to make ribs! In the past, I had boiled mine for 1 hour with seasonings and then baked in the oven. I MUCH prefer this method! I had mine in the crock-pot for a total of 9 hours on low, and they were not mushy at all. Here is what I did, maybe it helped: after the initial 4 hours, I took my turkey baster and sucked off all of the liquid from the crock (fat and water from the meat). It was a pretty good amount-probably an inch or two that the ribs were sitting in. Then I put on the bottle of BBQ sauce. At the end of the 8 hours, per another's suggestion, I did add a little more BBQ sauce on top and broiled them again for 5 minutes. This added a nice stickiness and crispiness to the ribs. They fell off the bone and were very tasty--reminded me of restaurant ribs. Great submission GrannyLin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My family loved these. They said they were better than when they're grilled. I agree.Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These turned out great! I didn't have an onion, so I used some minced garlic in place of that. My slow cooker didn't have medium either, so I did 4 hours on low, added the bbq sauce, then 2 hours on high. The only other thing I did different was brush a little more sauce on them, and stick them back under the broiler for a few minutes. They were fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeanOldMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metamora, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Yummmm! Made these Saturday for dinner at a friend's. Then my son called to BBQ on Sunday and I made them again! A little extra under the broiler and only 4-5 hours on low as suggested and this is my rib recipe forever! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Made these tonight and cooked them for 4 hours on high in my slow cooker. They turned out perfect...fork tender but not mushy at all! I served with mac and cheese and baked beans, and it was the perfect meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
It was a great recipe, so easy to do. I used Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce NUM! However, like everyone else, I did this on LOW for 4hrs and it was perfect and I really didn't need the water. I also thought it could use a little more cooking after to crisp it up and so I put on more BBQ sauce and broiled it some more.. perfect! I invited someone waiting in the hallway for my neighbor for 2hrs for dinner and she loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I am a newlywed who is trying her luck in the kitchen. I had never made ribs before so I was nervous. I needed a recipe that only required a few ingredients, so this was perfect. Don't be scared by the broiling thing before sticking them into the slow cooker - this almost made me look for a different recipe, as I had never broiled anything before either and thought it might be too many "firsts". You don't need them to "brown" as the instructions say - this confused me - just leave them for about 5 minutes each side. Easy. After broiling, I put 3 pounds of baby back ribs in the slow cooker with onions on low heat for 3 hours, then added the barbecue sauce. You don't need 18 ounces, seemed like way too much. I also didn't use the water. I kept cooking on low another 2 hours. The hubs called to say he would be home early, so even though the recipe called for 8 hours on low, I just decided to cook it on high for another hour and a half. It worked great, and before serving them I took the advice of other reviewers and broiled each side again for 5 minutes each, generously applying bbq sauce. I must say they turned out great, so much better than I expected, especially for my first try!! And I didn't even follow the recipe exactly, ahhh the magic of slow cookers. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This worked great but I didn't have to cook them for 8 hrs. I did about 2 hrs in High and 2 1/2-3 hrs on low (no Med on my slow cooker) and the ribs were fall off the bone tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was my 1st time making ribs so I was a little worried but they turned out good & tender! Water is not needed to cooked these because the ribs will produce enough liquid. My slow cooker doesn't have medium so after broiling, I cooked them on high 1 hour & low for 4 hours. (Low on my crock-pot is more like a medium setting.) I basted w/ some of the barbeque sauce 3 hours in & after 2 more hours I put more sauce on & broiled a 2nd time. (Make sure to use a good sauce!) These were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Simple Barbeque Ribs

These tender, authentic ribs are boiled and baked, and so simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States