Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I just realized I've never rated this, although I've made at least 50 batches! These are so wonderful, I found them on this site after tasting the same recipe at a popular sandwich chain, called "Sheila's Dream Bars" there. This is the exact same recipe, and it is buttery, but wonderful. You can omit 1 stick of butter without impacting the recipe too much if needed, I also often cut back on the sugar just 3-4 tblsp or so since the filling is so sweet. It definitely helps to refrigerate the dough for the top layer before adding and try to smoosh it flat and piece together as much as possible. And definitely keep the filling at least half an inch from the edges, I also press the dough down all around the edges to keep the caramel from leaking to the edge and burning. I have also started making different variations of these bars with different fillings - strawberry preserves and cheesecake filling, leftover apple pie filling and pecans, leftover bananas foster filling...all wonderful. They look nice when you wrap them in plastic wrap in squares and are very easy to make - thanks so much for ending my search!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
These were way too buttery. Even after they cooled off the butter was all over everyones hands and plates. Very greasy. I put them in the fridge and they were a little better after that. If I make them again I will definitely use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Yummy yummy! I went with the suggestion of using 3/4 cup granulated sugar & 3/4 cup brown sugar. You could cut down butter, but I found that by baking an additional 10-15 minutes it allowed the gooey topping to become more golden and crunchy. I used dulce de leche & it was just marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
These are probably the best cookies/bars I've ever had or made. I have had a ton of people request them at my work and I've had to give the recipe to like ten people. The only changes I made were to: change the sugar to 3/4 c. sugar and 3/4 c. brown sugar, and add a tsp of vanilla to the melted butter. I also use 3/4 cup of caramel because I couldn't find the right size jar (also, I bake 15 and 15 because my oven is finiky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I can't believe these don't have more reviews! They are the best cookie bars EVER, and very easy to make. One tip: Do NOT (I repeat: DO NOT) cut back on the butter. Your crust will be dry and won't stick together, and they won't be as good. What's the point anyway? I don't get these people who cut down on butter to make something "healthier." Whether you use 1 c. or 1 1/2 c. butter doesn't much matter, since it's still butter and still fattening. Have a little piece and enjoy. :) I made the recipe as written, adding 1 t. vanilla to the melted butter for more flavor. I also had to cook my crust a little longer (about 12 minutes) to get it golden brown. These bars were crunchy, a little salty, and sweet - seriously the best cookie bar. The chocolate and caramel blended together, and the taste is addicting. The whole pan disappeared in minutes at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I accidentally used 1 1/2 sticks of butter instead of 1 1/2 cups, and it was still quite buttery. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I make this over and over again bc I am ASKED to make it over and over again!!! (And bc I love it too!) These are amazing and there is no egg involved! I do make a change to the recipe and I use peanut butter AND chocolate chips, and instead of caramel I make peanut butter glaze that I put in the middle as well as on top. It is really simple-2 TBSP peanut butter, confectioner's sugar and milk until it is a drizzly consistency. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Fast, easy & delicious! I'll make them again & won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These are quite similar to the "Sheila's Dream Bars" at Potbelly's. They were wonderful and just the recipe that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I used less butter and these cookies where delicious. I am coming back to make a second batch since the first ones got eaten so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States