Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I just realized I've never rated this, although I've made at least 50 batches! These are so wonderful, I found them on this site after tasting the same recipe at a popular sandwich chain, called "Sheila's Dream Bars" there. This is the exact same recipe, and it is buttery, but wonderful. You can omit 1 stick of butter without impacting the recipe too much if needed, I also often cut back on the sugar just 3-4 tblsp or so since the filling is so sweet. It definitely helps to refrigerate the dough for the top layer before adding and try to smoosh it flat and piece together as much as possible. And definitely keep the filling at least half an inch from the edges, I also press the dough down all around the edges to keep the caramel from leaking to the edge and burning. I have also started making different variations of these bars with different fillings - strawberry preserves and cheesecake filling, leftover apple pie filling and pecans, leftover bananas foster filling...all wonderful. They look nice when you wrap them in plastic wrap in squares and are very easy to make - thanks so much for ending my search!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
yum! These are quick, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
The other weekend I had bars similar to these and I wanted to find the recipe, so I tried this one. These aren't as good as the other ones I had previously, but I recieved many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
We loved this recipe. Very rich but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Followed the advice to cut butter to 1 cup and mixed brown/granulated sugar. My son made these for his 4H fair, and they were champion in his category- the judge said she had never had a better textured bar cookie! Very good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I used less butter and these cookies where delicious. I am coming back to make a second batch since the first ones got eaten so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I didn't think they had too much butter. My daughter and her friend loved them, but I didn't find them worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These are so good!!! When I was making them I thought they might be kind of dry. But, I was wrong. These are very moist and chewy. I will definately make these again. Probably one of my favorite bar recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Wow! These cookies are really rich! I followed the recipe except I decreased the butter to 1 cup as per others suggestions. Husband just kept saying "Yum!!!" A little rich or me but will make again because he loved them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Yummy yummy! I went with the suggestion of using 3/4 cup granulated sugar & 3/4 cup brown sugar. You could cut down butter, but I found that by baking an additional 10-15 minutes it allowed the gooey topping to become more golden and crunchy. I used dulce de leche & it was just marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States