Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tinalanderson
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Amazing! Very rich. I didn't have a jar of carmel, but did have a bag of Kraft carmel bits (something new I found this weekend!)and sprinkled those on after the chocolate chips. Yum! Next time I'll probably try it with less butter and longer bake time for the second round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I made these because of other people's references to Sheila's Dream Bars from Potbelly's. I was not disappointed. Other reviewers have said the bars have too much butter and/or chocolate. There is no such thing! These are rich, gooey and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These were SO good! I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup and they were still sweet. After they had cooled, I cut and individually wrapped half of the bars to freeze. They freeze really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Love them. Wonderful recipe. I use a 13by 9 pan and keep them in the fridge, and cut into small pieces. Keeping them cold makes it easy to grab one (or three) really quickly. I have made it several times this past month! Only thing I change is only 1 cup chocolate chips- I think with 2 cups you loose the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I tried a reviewer's suggestion of using strawberry preserves and the already-made Philly cheesecake filling which comes in a tub in the dairy section of the grocery (my hubby doesn't care for a caramel-y taste). Pretty disappointing flavor. He said if he is going to waste his calories he'll do it on something which is better-tasting than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These bars are wonderful!!! Made them several times already. Cut out 1/2 stick of butter after the first time and they were still perfect. I also added a little sea salt to the caramel mixture and WOW!! Get requests for these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Kids loved it. Super sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These are just too much -- too sweet and too gooey -- and I'm the queen of loving too much. My husband, sister and niece liked these so I was happy to unload them. I don't know what could be done differently. Maybe I'll try making my favorite oatmeal cookie dough and layering that instead of the mixture they suggest. I just didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These turned out ok, made them as recipe directed and they were good. Then tried them with peanut butter chips and hot fudge sauce, my son loved them that way but he love anything peanut butter. If I made them again with the hot fudge sauce I wouldn't add the flour to the sauce as it is already thick and I had a hard time spreading it over the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made exactly as written and they were fantastic! It was not too much butter, if you want a healthy snack don't make these. Cut up beautifully and taste delicious, will keep this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States