Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
while these don't taste bad, they are just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Still a little too gooey, had to put them back into the oven for another 15 minutes. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I halved the recipe and made it in a 8x8 pan. I sprayed it really well with Pam and had no problem with sticking. I did need to make about a 1/2 cup more crumble so the bottom layer was not so thin and fragile. I only used 1/2 cup melted butter and did not have an issue with crumbling. I cut down on chocolate chips and added about 1/2 cup chopped pecans. This recipe is very very sweet. I think next time I will use caramel candies (or milk duds or rolos) instead of caramel sauce so it will be chewier. Overall these were good but not great. UPDATE: Added a star....After refigerating them overnight they tasted much better. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Yummy!! Nice and sweet, so ok to cut in smaller pieces. Foil your pan so you can pull it out and trim up the edges before cutting. I've made them a few times. A good recipe to make ahead of time and put in fridge/freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
yummy! me and hubby fought over last square!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were probably the best dessert I've ever made. We literally couldn't keep our hands off of them. I did only use 1 cup of butter since other people said it was too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. I was on a mission to duplicate Sheila's Dream Bar from Pot Belly. I think these are pretty darn close! LOVE LOVE LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I was looking to make something similar to Sheila's Dream Bars and came across this recipe. It comes pretty close. I couldn't find caramel topping so I used dulce de leche, which was just lovely. As far as the butter goes I unfortunately decided to follow the recipe and I have to agree, 1.5 cups is way too much butter (and I love butter). You can feel the grease ooze out from between your teeth when you chew them. I will definitely make these again and definitely only use 1 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hike4diamonds
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I used 1/2 c wheat flour and 1.5 c white flour, 1 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar, 1 c butter, and needed to bake for 15 minutes on both baking cycles. It was perfect. I have also tried this with jelly filling instead of the chocolate and caramel and it is perfect that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I can't believe these don't have more reviews! They are the best cookie bars EVER, and very easy to make. One tip: Do NOT (I repeat: DO NOT) cut back on the butter. Your crust will be dry and won't stick together, and they won't be as good. What's the point anyway? I don't get these people who cut down on butter to make something "healthier." Whether you use 1 c. or 1 1/2 c. butter doesn't much matter, since it's still butter and still fattening. Have a little piece and enjoy. :) I made the recipe as written, adding 1 t. vanilla to the melted butter for more flavor. I also had to cook my crust a little longer (about 12 minutes) to get it golden brown. These bars were crunchy, a little salty, and sweet - seriously the best cookie bar. The chocolate and caramel blended together, and the taste is addicting. The whole pan disappeared in minutes at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States