Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Tried this as one of the many desserts I served at Thanksgiving this year...and it was great!! The only thing I would say is you definitely need to use some wax paper at the bottom of the pan, and really need to be careful because it did crack on me a little bit...I also would suggest making a little more cream cheese frosting (mine ran a little low when I got to the edges). However, other than these few bugs, I would DEFIANTLY suggest this. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have made this a couple times and always got great reviews. Forgive me if this is too obvious, but when releasing the cake from the parchment, don't lift the paper straight up, bring it back low/against itself and it will release without additional tools. I always roll from the long side and cut into two cakes, wrap in plastic then foil and freeze in a freezer zip bag so that I can whip one out at a moments notice and it is wonderful even months later. Great recipe. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
As written this uneatable. Cake needs to be cooked longer then 15 min and damp towel should be changed to sprinkle with water. It was my fault that I followed the recipe and did not double check the cake was done and it was 100% goo in the middle. This was unknown to me until the re roll with the icing step. The whole thing was 100% waste of time and ingredients. Unhappy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made this for the first time last Thanksgiving because we need some last minute desserts and we had all of the ingredients. It has turned into a favorite for my friends and family and it is fun to make. The biggest issue I have is getting done all the way through without overlooking it. I bought a new pan that I hope will solve this issue. It is yummy even if it doesn't always look perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Good recipe. Had trouble with icing oozing, next time will refrigerate before spreading. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This pumpkin roll is very popular with my customers and co-workers. It's very moist and incredibly easy. I'm going to get another jelly roll pan so I can make several in less time. I use a towel (linen type) to roll and it works great. Cool about 1/2 hour, gently unroll and let rest a little before spreading filling. I layed parchment along long end and, after filling, rerolled it right onto the parchment. VOILA. It makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe said and it turned out perfect! Will be making again for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefstudent
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this as my first pumpkin roll and it turned out amazingly! I was very happy with the taste and apperience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made it as written and I can't even believe how easy and delicious it is! I'm definitely making this again and I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the worst recipe for a pumpkin roll that I've ever made. Its not cake like at all, rather chewy and rubbery. I followed directions to a T too. I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States