Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this for Christmas, a few days ahead. I had never made a roll cake in my life. I was terrified it would fall apart when I tried to roll it. Since Celiac Disease is in my family, I substituted the wheat flour for gluten free baking mix, left out the baking soda as it's already in my baking mix, added 1/2 tsp more spice as we love it spicy, and added 1/2 cup marshmallow cream to the filling, left out vanilla since I hate it. The cake did crack a bit when I tried to roll it but once it had cooled enough to wrap in plastic wrap I pushed it back together, froze it, and it was fantastic come Christmas dessert time. Every morsel was eaten and bragged on. I wish I had made 3 or 4 of them. I will definitely be always keeping the ingredients on hand and baking this roll again, maybe even tonight!! Sorry I can't rate it as it is but the Celiac prevents that :-( Otherwise it's a perfect recipe and I'd give it a hundred stars if I could. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah.Hawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidrick, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
INCREDIBLE! This was about the 2nd or 3rd pumpkin roll recipe I've tried over the years, and it is the BEST!!!! It produced, hands down, the best pumpkin roll I've ever had, either from any store or homemade by anyone. The cake was moist and bouncy, and the cream was sweet and smooth. A perfect combination! Follow the instructions and they'll produce very satisfactory results. I will never use another pumpkin roll recipe! Thank you, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
It definitely needed to be baked for longer than 15 minutes. Didn't realize it until I was unrolling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Never had luck with roll cakes, but this turned out perfectly! I used vanilla instead of lemon juice as suggested by one user. The video was very helpful. I have made it twice and will be making it again! Big hit at a family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is my sons favorite holiday treat. I make it per the recipe and it is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The roll was easy to make but just wasn't as flavorful as I thought it would be considering all the rave reviews. I'll try it again with additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I just made this and I'm sure it will taste good, however, a 9 x 13 jellyroll pan does not result in a cake that will look like the picture that goes with this recipe...it's kind of like false advertising. It simply isn't wide enough (rolling from the long side) to result in that many turns which is what makes it pretty. I won't be serving mine to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I like the "cake" part to be more caky .... but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Tried this as one of the many desserts I served at Thanksgiving this year...and it was great!! The only thing I would say is you definitely need to use some wax paper at the bottom of the pan, and really need to be careful because it did crack on me a little bit...I also would suggest making a little more cream cheese frosting (mine ran a little low when I got to the edges). However, other than these few bugs, I would DEFIANTLY suggest this. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have made this a couple times and always got great reviews. Forgive me if this is too obvious, but when releasing the cake from the parchment, don't lift the paper straight up, bring it back low/against itself and it will release without additional tools. I always roll from the long side and cut into two cakes, wrap in plastic then foil and freeze in a freezer zip bag so that I can whip one out at a moments notice and it is wonderful even months later. Great recipe. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States