Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I had fun making this. Had no problems whatsoever with the cake sticking to the pan or cracking. Here is what I did. I cut a piece of parchment paper to fit my pan then sprayed the edges of the pan with cooking spray. I allowed the cake to cool about 20 minutes then I lifted it out of the pan with parchment paper stuck to the bottom of it and flipped it (carefully) on to another piece of parchment paper with a generous amount of powdered sugar sprinkled on it. Then I just peeled the parchment off the bottom of the roll, spread on icing, sprinkled some finely chopped walnuts on top of icing and re-rolled the cake. Wrapped it up on a piece of heavy duty foil and put it freezer for about 45 minutes to set up. Then moved to fridge. Just fantastic. It's a beautiful presentation and the taste is incredible. If you are hesitating to try because it looks difficult you should definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was a disaster when I tried to roll it. My icing popped out so that I could not roll it tightly. Using less icing may help, and if I ever try this again, I will chill the icing until it is fairly firm and allow the cake to cool longer. Four stars for taste, negative one star for being a pain....**Update- 2nd attempt: I used wax paper on the pan, then another sheet on the inside when I rolled it. This prevented it from sticking to the towel. Greasing it would be good too. I didn't soften the c. cheese as much and chilled it while the cake cooled. This made it much easier to spread w/out gushing out. Came out almost as good looking as the pics-- I'll keep trying! Tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
The roll was pretty easy to make and tasted very good. I have to admit the roll was moister than I probably would like. I baked my cake in an 11X15 for the 15 minutes and it came out perfect. I had no trouble rolling it up like described in the directions. I had a lot extra filling (about ½ worth). I made two of these and found that making the filling while the cake is cooking and then putting the filling in the fridge until it is needed. I found with my first one, I let my filling sit out and then when I spread it on the still warm cake that it made the filling more runner which is why I am suspecting the other review had the problem of it spilling out all over the place. I would also suggest not putting the whole filling on unless you need it, this will help prevent the filling from spilling out everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I learn new tricks with this one every year...Couple of years ago I noticed the roll sticking to pan so I used wax paper under the mix and bake it that way before turning on the towel! 7 years with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I have made this a number of time since I got the recipe. I use an 11x15 pan though. Just seems to turn out better in a larger pan. I also used wax paper on the bottom of my pan. On my first try I learned that the cake sticks to the wax paper after you remove it from the oven. So I sprayed the wax paper with cooking spray and it works great. I can carefully take the wax paper out of the pan and flip it over onto the damp towel. Also, to dampen the linen towel I over-wet a wash cloth and layed it on top of the towel in several places. It created a more even wetness on the towel. My family has gone crazy over this recipe. We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I wish there were more stars available, because I'd give this recipe ALL of them. The method was a smidge difficult at first, but I'm pretty sure that's because I used a pan that was too small. I have been using a half sheet pan recently, and it works PERFECTLY. With that size, the cake is so thin that it's nearly impossible for it to break when you're rolling. My husband, who has something to say about EVERYTHING, said "Well, I just can't fine one thing that I'd improve about this." Only his mom and I know what a major deal that is, but you need to take my word for it!!! The things I changed/altered: -- I used Egg Beaters, because I just never have eggs. -- I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it worked beautifully. -- I added extra nutmeg and cinnamon. Totally personal preference, but the fall, spicy flavor really pops when you do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Tasty cake. I felt the filling was too plain so I added finely chopped pecans and 1 teaspoon ginger to the cream cheese....MMMmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This is the most incredible recipe!!!! I've been making it for a few years now. I make about 6 or 8 at a time and everyone I know waits all year till I make them at Thanksgiving time. Word to the wise DO NOT CHANGE A THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My family loved it. I keep one in the freezer for unexpected guest at all times. I didn't have any pumpkin spice so I used 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of nutmeg. I also lined the cookie sheet with wax paper instead of flour. It was easier getting the cake off the pan. Great Recipe!!! Shantell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Be sure not to use fat free cream cheese! It gets lumpy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 828) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States