Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have made this a couple times and always got great reviews. Forgive me if this is too obvious, but when releasing the cake from the parchment, don't lift the paper straight up, bring it back low/against itself and it will release without additional tools. I always roll from the long side and cut into two cakes, wrap in plastic then foil and freeze in a freezer zip bag so that I can whip one out at a moments notice and it is wonderful even months later. Great recipe. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My cake needed to be cooked longer then 15 min and damp towel should be changed to sprinkle with water. It was my fault that I followed the recipe and did not double check the cake was done and it was 100% goo in the middle. Unhappy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made this for the first time last Thanksgiving because we need some last minute desserts and we had all of the ingredients. It has turned into a favorite for my friends and family and it is fun to make. The biggest issue I have is getting done all the way through without overlooking it. I bought a new pan that I hope will solve this issue. It is yummy even if it doesn't always look perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Good recipe. Had trouble with icing oozing, next time will refrigerate before spreading. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This pumpkin roll is very popular with my customers and co-workers. It's very moist and incredibly easy. I'm going to get another jelly roll pan so I can make several in less time. I use a towel (linen type) to roll and it works great. Cool about 1/2 hour, gently unroll and let rest a little before spreading filling. I layed parchment along long end and, after filling, rerolled it right onto the parchment. VOILA. It makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe said and it turned out perfect! Will be making again for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefstudent
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this as my first pumpkin roll and it turned out amazingly! I was very happy with the taste and apperience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made it as written and I can't even believe how easy and delicious it is! I'm definitely making this again and I won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the worst recipe for a pumpkin roll that I've ever made. Its not cake like at all, rather chewy and rubbery. I followed directions to a T too. I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
The taste was pretty good. The "cake" was kind of on the plain side however. Cream was good. Not too sweet. I didn't like how the cake part was so dense. I couldn't even describe the texture of it, but after reading some comments it was definitely comparable to fudge. Not cakey at all. Followed the recipe to a T except I had to bake the cake longer since it was still gooey after 15mins. I was pretty disappointed. This doesn't compare to other pumpkin rolls I've had. I'm suprised at all the raving reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States