Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe is absolutely delicious. The only trouble that I had with it was rolling the roll without breaking it. ON my third try it was perfect. If you guys are having trouble with the same thing I would following recipe exactly for rolling and making your cake part a little thinner. The Icing was about my favorite cream cheese to powdered sugar proportions that I've ever tried. It was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I love this recipe. They are really great frozen ahead of time, just pop them in the fridge from the freezer before serving. I make several every year around thanksgiving and freeze a few for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelyblm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Recipe is perfect! Wouldn't change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was (mostly) surprisingly easy. I rolled the cake in parchment because I didn't have a towel that I wasn't afraid would leave lint. I feel like a towel would have helped with the cooling more because there was some sweat under the parchment. The sweat caused the cake the stick to the parchment so once I added the filling, it became a two person job trying to re-roll it. I think graham cracker crumbs, pecans, walnuts, or anything that goes well with pumpkin would be a great addition to the filling. It's an incredibly rich dessert so raw nuts might help mellow that out slightly. And if you're concerned about the edges and the icing oozing out, just cut the edges off before you serve it and secretly enjoy those slices for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wow...what a crowd pleaser! My kids both couldn't stop raving about this! I was nervous making it, but it turned out good, and it was much easier than I thought! I put wax paper on the bottom of a large cookie sheet (like 12x17 or so). Let the cake cool about 5 mins before flipping it onto another wax paper that I had dusted with confectioners sugar. Rolled it up with the wax paper (no towel). It turned out so pretty! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This roll is the best, everyone I make it for wants more, you really need to butter your pan and I also use cooking spray just incase so it won't stick, get flour sack cloth, and put powder sugar on in and flop your pan on in, perfect every time, hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I make this pumpkin roll often! It's always a hit and SO easy! I put a little ground ginger in the icing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I look to the hills

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I give this cake a 5 star for taste but 4 for assembly. It's a very delicious tasting cake but hard to assemble (although it is my 2nd time attempting this). The first time I made it, it was a disaster! The cake fell completely apart in pieces when I unrolled it from the towel. The cake is very moist (I used fresh pureed pumpkin, not canned...don't know if that makes a difference)and just stuck to the towel. The 2nd time, I took the advice of some reviewers and put waxed paper on top of the towel. It worked out much better but I still had to be careful unrolling it. After putting the filling in, I was only able to give it 1 roll...maybe it's too much filling? Other than that, the cake and filling is delicious. I guess with practice, the assembly will get easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I thought making the cake and icing was easy. But the cake ripped when I put it on the towel and it was hard to roll up. The cake was also very heavy and moist. Overall it tasted good and everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Love it! Love it!! LOVE IT!!! First time making it and it was so easy. I made a second one an hour later so I could share with friends as well since my Husband and kids always eat everything up. Only thing I did different was I used a can of 100% pure pumpkin since I couldn't find the puree and I added about a teaspoon of pumpkin spice to the cream cheese filling for an extra burst of pumpkin flavor! Also I didn't have a linen towel so I used a clean unused pillow case since the material is smooth. I put them in the fridge for about 4 hours before slicing; and this recipe came out so great I ended up eaten 4 slices in the space of 10 minutes and I don't feel one bit bad about it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States