Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delicious and flavorful! This is definitely going to be one of my holiday staples. This was my first time making a roll. The video helped immensely. It turned out exquisite. My guests said that it should be in a magazine! It was easy and so fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I followed the directions exactly including using the 9x13 pan as it states on recipe! I think that was my problem, It should say 11x15 pan I think. My cake didnt cook all the way through, but it was too late to put it back in as I had already flipped it. I rolled it into a short roll since it wasnt as long as it needed to be then it cracked and was a mushy mess since the middle section wasnt fully cooked! What a bummer! I put it in the freezer anyway to atleast be able to try the ends that were ok. The filling was delicious! I will make it again, but using the larger pan and hope 2nd time is a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Block

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I like many other reviewers was nervous about making a dessert roll. I followed the recipe exactly other than using a 10x15 pan like so many others said they did, I sprayed the pan lined with wax paper and then greased and floured the wax paper. I turned it out on the towel and the paper peeled off without a problem I then rolled it let it cool made the filling (again followed recipe exactly) I thought it was just the right amount. rolled back up and trimmed the ends so I could taste test. YUM. my second one is now cooling in its towel as I write this review (a can of pumpkin will make 2 rolls, can't have waste!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird1114

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Eliot, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Padawan Chef
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great recipe, definitely adding it to my dessert repertoire! For some texture and to tone down the sweetness, I added 1/4 cup of finely shredded coconut. if sweetened, you may want to add less icing sugar. As another review mentioned, there was extra icing with 1 full package of cream cheese. 1.5 times the ratio would give you enough for two cake rolls. I also sprinkled 1/2 cup of finely chopped walnuts after I spread out the frosting. I'm also thinking of doing a carrot cake recipe instead of the pumpkin roll next time. I used some concentrated orange juice instead of lemon juice for the acidity to activate the baking soda and it seemed to work fine. Chilling the frosting and making sure the roll is well cooled will prevent excess squeezing out at the ends. You gotta try this, you'll LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Padawan Chef
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This tasted way better than I imagined it would. I am a huge fan of anything with cream cheese so this hit the spot. The only issues I had was mine stuck to the pan just a little but it did come out okay. Also I wasn't sure if I rolled it up in the right direction. Of course I didn't think of that until after I had already rolled it from short side to short side. It was fabulous either way. Definitely keeping this recipe. Thank you thank yoi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
it did seem chewy the first night but when i left it in the fridge for one or two days it was amazing. i was supposed to bring it to work but my husband ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookssm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this first thing today, and I made two batches. The first one I put in the recommended size pan, lined with parchment paper that I sprayed very lightly with cooking spray. The second batch, I split between two 9x11 inch pans. The first one had to bake a few minutes longer, but the second batch was perfect at 15 minutes. I sifted powdered sugar on top of them after they cooled about ten minutes on the counter, then used the parchment paper they baked in to roll them with. I let them cool well over the 20 minute mark, just because I was busy. The parchment paper does not stick if you sift the sugar over the cake, and when you unroll it, you need to be slow so it will not pull apart. I had no issues with the cake tearing, splitting or breaking at all. I spread the filling on the cake, leaving about 1/2 on the sides and the outer edge. The edge that will be the center, I made sure to really fill it up with the icing. The one bigger roll simply has more pumpkin bread/cake, and will look better on the table the other two were thinner,they were both very tasty. I chose this recipe because the color was better (I used pumpkin and NOT canned squash, which is what most pie fillings are) and I will add more spices next time, just because we really enjoy the nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger a lot. The texture is great, the taste is wonderful and this has turned into a family favorite. The thinner bread is also better for my husband, a type 1 diabetic. Filling was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
SOOOO GOOD! Loved the flavour, was easy to make. The only thing I didn't care for was the texture of the outside of the roll after it was wrapped (was a bit too moist/sticky). I tried to dust with icing sugar to combat that, but it didn't help much! Nevertheless, will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I attempted to make a pumpkin roll before and ended up doing a layered pie with the pieces, as it fell apart....This one was perfect! Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I never attempted a dessert roll before and had my doubts. This came out great and was a big hit. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfromcans
Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States