Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This tasted way better than I imagined it would. I am a huge fan of anything with cream cheese so this hit the spot. The only issues I had was mine stuck to the pan just a little but it did come out okay. Also I wasn't sure if I rolled it up in the right direction. Of course I didn't think of that until after I had already rolled it from short side to short side. It was fabulous either way. Definitely keeping this recipe. Thank you thank yoi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
it did seem chewy the first night but when i left it in the fridge for one or two days it was amazing. i was supposed to bring it to work but my husband ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookssm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this first thing today, and I made two batches. The first one I put in the recommended size pan, lined with parchment paper that I sprayed very lightly with cooking spray. The second batch, I split between two 9x11 inch pans. The first one had to bake a few minutes longer, but the second batch was perfect at 15 minutes. I sifted powdered sugar on top of them after they cooled about ten minutes on the counter, then used the parchment paper they baked in to roll them with. I let them cool well over the 20 minute mark, just because I was busy. The parchment paper does not stick if you sift the sugar over the cake, and when you unroll it, you need to be slow so it will not pull apart. I had no issues with the cake tearing, splitting or breaking at all. I spread the filling on the cake, leaving about 1/2 on the sides and the outer edge. The edge that will be the center, I made sure to really fill it up with the icing. The one bigger roll simply has more pumpkin bread/cake, and will look better on the table the other two were thinner,they were both very tasty. I chose this recipe because the color was better (I used pumpkin and NOT canned squash, which is what most pie fillings are) and I will add more spices next time, just because we really enjoy the nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger a lot. The texture is great, the taste is wonderful and this has turned into a family favorite. The thinner bread is also better for my husband, a type 1 diabetic. Filling was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
SOOOO GOOD! Loved the flavour, was easy to make. The only thing I didn't care for was the texture of the outside of the roll after it was wrapped (was a bit too moist/sticky). I tried to dust with icing sugar to combat that, but it didn't help much! Nevertheless, will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I attempted to make a pumpkin roll before and ended up doing a layered pie with the pieces, as it fell apart....This one was perfect! Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I never attempted a dessert roll before and had my doubts. This came out great and was a big hit. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookfromcans
Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
It turned out better than I thought it would being my first roll cake. I did use the wax paper and cooking spray when baking as recommended by others. Next time I will use less filling because it was too much as well as less butter. I used walnuts in my mixture as well and that improved the roll a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Delicious! A big hit and not difficult to make at all even though it looks like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just rolled my rolls (I doubled the recipe). I was pleasantly surprised how easy my cakes came out of the pans. I just used my spatula and loosed it around the edges and under and then flipped the pan upside down on my prepared towels. Maybe some forgot to spray their cake pans before they put the batter in. Anyhow, house smells delicious! Going to freeze these for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Culp Wenzelmaier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this today and followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. :)It rolled well and didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States