Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I've made this several times and I always get wonderful compliments. I often will double on the pumpkin pie spice and I've made this with canned sweet potatoes instead of the pumpkin. It comes out great both ways. Like other reviewers, I always spray the baking pan with Pam, then I place a piece of parchment paper in the pan and spray with Pam again, so that the cake doesn't stick when taking out. When the cake is done, I too roll it in a damp cloth. However, I am a little wary of getting cloth fibers into my roll. Just to be safe I set parchment paper on the bottom and top of my cake. That way when I roll it - the wet cloth is never in direct contact with my cake. This cake turns out great each and every time. It might, however, take a few times of practice before it looks perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUIW
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
So good!!! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! My only suggestion, while rolling, is to sprinkle on a lot of powdered sugar onto your tea towel when rolling. If you only use a little bit, I guarantee you'll be having cake stick to the towel. I also refrigerated the filling first before spreading onto the cake, and that eliminated the gooey mess that spills out from the sides when rolling. Otherwise the filling would be too soft. Great for freezing, and thaws out really well, and tastes fresh even when thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I made this for a bake sale and individually wrapped the slices. It turned out beautiful and perfect (and delicious!) on my first try, and I've never made a rolled pastry before. I might add a little more pumpkin pie spice next time because I like a spicy flavor for pumpkin goods but overall this recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this for Christmas, a few days ahead. I had never made a roll cake in my life. I was terrified it would fall apart when I tried to roll it. Since Celiac Disease is in my family, I substituted the wheat flour for gluten free baking mix, left out the baking soda as it's already in my baking mix, added 1/2 tsp more spice as we love it spicy, and added 1/2 cup marshmallow cream to the filling, left out vanilla since I hate it. The cake did crack a bit when I tried to roll it but once it had cooled enough to wrap in plastic wrap I pushed it back together, froze it, and it was fantastic come Christmas dessert time. Every morsel was eaten and bragged on. I wish I had made 3 or 4 of them. I will definitely be always keeping the ingredients on hand and baking this roll again, maybe even tonight!! Sorry I can't rate it as it is but the Celiac prevents that :-( Otherwise it's a perfect recipe and I'd give it a hundred stars if I could. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah.Hawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidrick, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
INCREDIBLE! This was about the 2nd or 3rd pumpkin roll recipe I've tried over the years, and it is the BEST!!!! It produced, hands down, the best pumpkin roll I've ever had, either from any store or homemade by anyone. The cake was moist and bouncy, and the cream was sweet and smooth. A perfect combination! Follow the instructions and they'll produce very satisfactory results. I will never use another pumpkin roll recipe! Thank you, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
It definitely needed to be baked for longer than 15 minutes. Didn't realize it until I was unrolling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Never had luck with roll cakes, but this turned out perfectly! I used vanilla instead of lemon juice as suggested by one user. The video was very helpful. I have made it twice and will be making it again! Big hit at a family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is my sons favorite holiday treat. I make it per the recipe and it is a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The roll was easy to make but just wasn't as flavorful as I thought it would be. I'll try it again with additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I just made this and I'm sure it will taste good, however, a 9 x 13 jellyroll pan does not result in a cake that will look like the picture that goes with this recipe...it's kind of like false advertising. It simply isn't wide enough (rolling from the long side) to result in that many turns which is what makes it pretty. I won't be serving mine to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States