Granny Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
THIS IS TOTALLY AWESOME. And what makes it even better is that it is so easy to fix. This will absolutely melt in your mouth.. YOU MUST TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This cake is extremely wet, but it's sooo good. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used all purpose flour instead of cake flour. There is a lot of sauce, which makes it seem almost like a pudding. Excellent dessert. Next time I think I'll cut back a little on the brown sugar. Over all, delicious. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Very Yummy!! A bit rich, but very moist and delicious. I only used about 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
i thought that this cake was extremely sweet and i couldn't even tell there was pineapple in it. it was moist, but that wasn't enough to make up for the overpowering sweet taste of it. i would have liked the flavor of the pineapple to shine through more,but it just didn't. i will definitely look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This cake has a lot of promise, but it's not a "pineapple cake." It's a cake where pineapple acts just like applesauce, replacing oil with sweet fruit pulp to make a healthier treat. To call it a pineapple cake is to raise the taste expectations to a level it can't meet. Though bland and sweet, this dense, moist cake is the perfect base for a coffee cake. All it needs is some zest. The next time I bake it, I'll add cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and a pinch of salt. I'll top it with a crumb blend of brown sugar, cinnamon, flour and butter. I think it will turn out 4-star tasty as well as 5-star easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
It is a Granny Cake and it is great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was a good cake. Very moist. After reading the reviews I left out the cup of brown sugar and my hubby said that it was still very sweet. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Did make the sauce & really like it, very simple with ingredients usually on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missladyd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Haven't tried yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States