Granny Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is the only cake my husband will eat, so it is the only one I make. I substitute heavy whipping cream (not whipped) for the evaporated milk so I don't have left over milk I won't use. I use canned pineapple in it's own juice, and if I skimp on sugar, I use less white sugar making the batter. Don't omit the brown sugar as it adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing. Turns out perfect every time. It is a great cake to throw together for a quick dessert. My grandmother made this for me as a child so the recipe has been around a long time. She always served it with sweetened whipped cream. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was much better than what I expected. My company really raved about it. I especially love the "caramel" topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out so yummy! My family loved it. It is a very dense, very rich cake unlike any I've had before. It was so simple to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I actually call my grandmother "Granny" so I made this for her for that reason. It was awesome! I ended up using vanilla creamer in place of the evaporated milk and it still turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Can I give this cake 10 stars? It is so incredibly good and so easy to make. And, I usually don't like pineapple! I used sweetened condensed milk and omitted the sugar for the topping (as recommended by others) and it turned out scrumptious. I can't say enough about how yummy this cake is. Serve it warm - it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very simple and very sweet. Wonderful warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream ... yummy! My father loved this and often asks when I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this cake for a family get together and it got great raves from the kids as well as the adults. I doubled the recipe, thankfully, because the hostess couldn't wait to have the leftovers for breakfast! I used the condensed milk over the top as others had suggested. I think this cake would be good with either milk. It would probably be good without either one, too, for those of you wathing your weight. I added some cinnamon chips to this cake batter to give it a little pizzaz- good choice! This cake doesn't have a strong pineapple taste, which I liked. Overall it was just a yummy coffee cake great for a get together. I think I will try this next time with strawberries and whipped cream! And maybe I will replace the white sugar with brown. This is a very versatile recipe- the combinations are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Excellent cake! I've made this cake for years. It's always a big hit at church dinners. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very easy and very good and moist. I cut back on the butter in the topping to 1/4 cup ( 1/2 stick). I don't think it hurt the taste any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States