Granny Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing. Turns out perfect every time. It is a great cake to throw together for a quick dessert. My grandmother made this for me as a child so the recipe has been around a long time. She always served it with sweetened whipped cream. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was much better than what I expected. My company really raved about it. I especially love the "caramel" topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out so yummy! My family loved it. It is a very dense, very rich cake unlike any I've had before. It was so simple to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I actually call my grandmother "Granny" so I made this for her for that reason. It was awesome! I ended up using vanilla creamer in place of the evaporated milk and it still turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Can I give this cake 10 stars? It is so incredibly good and so easy to make. And, I usually don't like pineapple! I used sweetened condensed milk and omitted the sugar for the topping (as recommended by others) and it turned out scrumptious. I can't say enough about how yummy this cake is. Serve it warm - it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very simple and very sweet. Wonderful warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream ... yummy! My father loved this and often asks when I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this cake for a family get together and it got great raves from the kids as well as the adults. I doubled the recipe, thankfully, because the hostess couldn't wait to have the leftovers for breakfast! I used the condensed milk over the top as others had suggested. I think this cake would be good with either milk. It would probably be good without either one, too, for those of you wathing your weight. I added some cinnamon chips to this cake batter to give it a little pizzaz- good choice! This cake doesn't have a strong pineapple taste, which I liked. Overall it was just a yummy coffee cake great for a get together. I think I will try this next time with strawberries and whipped cream! And maybe I will replace the white sugar with brown. This is a very versatile recipe- the combinations are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Excellent cake! I've made this cake for years. It's always a big hit at church dinners. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very easy and very good and moist. I cut back on the butter in the topping to 1/4 cup ( 1/2 stick). I don't think it hurt the taste any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
My daughter-in-law made this cake for me for my birthday and everyone loved it. Even my 10 year old granddaughter. It was so moist. It was great both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States