Grands!® Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I first learned how to make this when I was a little girl and the woman who ran the daycare had the kids work together to make it. Now, I make this with my own kids. I don't use walnuts, I use pecans. Sometimes if I think of it, I'll make a vanilla glaze to drizzle over the top after I've turned it upside down. This doubles well and honestly disappears in 15 minutes. My family loves this. It's a great substitute for people who love cinnamon rolls but don't want to spend the time to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Boy does this bring back memories... This definitely is an irresistable childhood favorite and a great way to use Grands Biscuits. Not only is it fun to make, but fun to eat! I always use a bundt pan sprayed with Pam for baking so everything comes out with ease. I add the optional nuts and raisins along with 1 tsp. of vanilla to the butter and brown sugar mixture. When it's done, just invert the whole thing onto a plate and get out a ton of napkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
A tip learned the hard way: don't use spray for greasing the cake pan. It's too much. Lightly spread some butter with a paper towel and it cooks better, and isn't as "greasy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
three tips to make it 5 stars... First I would boil the brown sugar and butter for two minutes in order to get it to "carmalize". Then pour it over the biscuits. Second...I would skip the "Grands" biscuits and instead use regular Pillsburg refridgerator biscuits (the kind that come in a pack of 4). The "Grands" are too big and still taste too savory. Last...I would skip the bundt pan and put it in a glass 11 X 17 pan. I read reviews complaining of uncooked dough, and by switching out pans, I had no trouble with the 28-32 recommended minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We loved this. Made it as directed, minus the raisins and walnuts (no one here will eat them but me.) I had no problem with the brown sugar mixture but as soon as my bread was done, I flipped it on a plate and let it sit there 10 minutes (still in the pan) so that the mixture would 'harden' onto the bread, not in the bundt pan. This one turned out so much better than the last monkey bread recipe I tried. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I make with Pilsbury Grands cinnamon rolls, quartered and tossed with brown sugar, butter and pecans. Add a little water to the brown sugar butter to get more caramel. A favorite Saturday morning treat at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
What yummy gooey goodness on a cold morning. I did tweak this to my liking. I halved this. Then I melted the butter in the bottom of a large loaf pan and added the brown sugar and a tablespoon of milk to make a caramel sauce. I sprinkled pecans and raisins over the caramel and then layered the sugared pieces as directed. When it came out of the oven, I immediately inverted the pan to create a caramelized sticky loaf. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
It was an awful lot of sugar and butter and I actually ended up throwing some of the mixture away because after my 10 minute cool time, when I turned it out onto a platter, a lot of brown sugar mixture was still in the pan. I wouldn't use as much next time - I'd probably use half the sugar and butter. However, that said, this is a yummy treat to have once and a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
OMG. Hubby and I just ate 3/4 of the curssed, delicious pan. TRY this. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We enjoyed this but the sauce did not "caramelize" in the bundt pan. I scooped it out after done and put into the middle of the biscuits. Next time I'd bake this about 3-5 minutes longer as the inside seemed a bit doughy. I did add walnuts which made the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States