Grands!® Easy Taco Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews and realized that the taco seasoning was left off the ingredient list because without it, it was bland. I did try to doctor up the meat and salsa mixture a bit by adding onion powder and melted monterrey jack cheese. The concept is great, and it's easy to make. BUT next time I will use the taco seasoning because as is, it's just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I actually wanted to make these vegetarian so I substituted black beans for the beef and it turned out well! I didn't have any taco seasoning and I didn't have time to make any, so I skipped it and I wish I added it. These are decent and edible, but nothing to write home about. I used a rolling pin to get the biscuits out to a suitable size and that just made a flour-filled mess on my counter, unfortunately. I would probably try these again with more seasoning, though. Served them at a tailgate (cut them in half for a more appetizer-like feel) and they went over well. I dipped mine in some ranch dressing and that helped oomph up the flavor, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Pretty good!! Made this for a bunch of teenage boys and they scarfed them down. Used loads of cheese, and changed up the filling a little bit...made more of an empanada type filling instead of only salsa, but definitely served with salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I wanted to cook my meat first and drain off the fat and got busy and inadvertently added all the salsa to the meat. I didn't read the comments before hand and didn't add taco seasoning. Not a problem, it turned out great with the mistake of adding all the salsa up front. We used a little taco sauce on the top and they were delicious. My hubby said next time do the same thing only add the taco seasoning to see the difference. There is a little meat mixture left which can be put in a tortilla shell for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This has become a new staple in my household!! Just don't forget the taco seasoning or you'll get an entirely different taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Not gourmet by any means, but I was looking for something fast and easy to use some ground beef and an aging can of Grands biscuits I had. My picky son who can count on one hand the foods he'll eat could not get enough of these! I added about 1/2 packet of taco seasoning and topped them with sour cream. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Made this last night for dinner, but dident want the same old taco tasting thing, sooo, browned the ground beef and added a packet of onion soup mix and a cup of water, let it reduce down so the meat wasent to juicy. followed the recipe as stated with the cheese, no salsa. Turned out yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is super easy to make. I also added taco seasoning mix, as suggested by many others. My daughter suggested pressing two biscuits together and filling with double the amount. This would probably be a better presentation for the man of the house. We cooked it a few minutes longer. Would recommend this recipe to my other daughter who is moving into her apartment and may need to impress her guests with s tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved them and perfect for left over taco meat !! Plus Grands biscuits are good anyway...cold & bye theirselves !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really have to agree with other reviewers on the taco seasoning. I made half as written and half with seasoning and the seasoned ones was much better. I only added half the taco seasoning packet and mild chunky pace. It had great flavor but still a tad bit dry. Will make these again with maybe tweeks to make them less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States