Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was fantastic. So wonderfully moist, which lasted for days! I can't wait to make again. I went light on the strength of the coffee, I didn't want to overwhelm the cake with an all coffee flavor, but I barely even tasted it. However, when I make it again, I will increase the strength of the coffee just a bit. Of course this is my preference. This is definitely my go to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Definitely the best chocolate cake recipe I've used. Keeping this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
moist and tasty, not too sweet which we like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have not tasted this , but according to the sweet tooth in the house , it is very good and moist . I first made it because it only called for 2 eggs ( we were low ) , and there is always left over coffee . I have made it twice , and both times it turned out great . I bake in a very well greased and floured bundt pan , for about 50 - 70 mins. I don't know what size pan it is . ( my bad ) . No frosting either time . The first one we drizzled with a caramel sauce . The second one just sprinkled with powdered sugar . No fuss . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe and it was a great winner at a birthday party. Is there a way we can make a white cake just as moist as this chocolate cake. Any help or advise greatly appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Good recipe...very moist. Not very rich chocolate though. It turned out tasting like a devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried it its really good with white icing and milk chocolate chips as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This cake is incredibly quick and easy to prep (compared to other scratch cakes). Since it is oil-based, it is the perfect cake to make if you are trying to surprise someone sleeping in the same house; you can make this cake very quietly without an electric mixer. It is very moist and delicious, and doesn't stick to the pan like other butter-based cakes that seem to take a lot more work. I frosted it with vanilla buttercream frosting by doing a "crumb coat" first since the crumbs are very dark (i.e., thinly frosting the cake, freezing it a little, and then frosting it thickly once the crumb coat hardened somewhat). My office thought the cake was very delicious and every crumb was gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is an excellent cake, just like the one that my grandmother use to make. I did add 1 cup of buttermilk and very strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt pan which took about 50 minutes. This one is a keeper. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is by far the best chocolate cake I have ever baked! It is VERY moist and so easy to put together. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I baked it in three nine-inch cake pans. There is no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States