Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Well grandpop sure knows his way around the kitchen! My family loves this cake!... I made it for an office party at my mothers work and she said her co workers raved about this cake! Grandpop you got a good thing going here. Thank you for sharing it with my family. I plan to keep this recipe around for generations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is the best chocolate recipe I have EVER made from scratch. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I made it for my birthday and everyone loved it!!! So easy to make with such simple ingredients, but the best flavor imaginable. This is my favorite cake recipe and is a must try. Thanks to whoever put this recipe on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe creates the most awesome cake! I followed recipe amounts substituting cake flour for the AP, and unsalted, butter for the oil, as these are what on hand. Plus i cut the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of the two called for, we thought it was penty sweet, especially when paired with a chocolate buttercream frosting. I have been searching for a cake recipe from scratch that would produce a moist, light, fluffy cake (i hate dense baked goods) and this is by Far the best scratch recipe i have ever used! It will be my number one cake recipe from now on ! I am thinking i could use this recipe for other flavors, that is my next baking project- adapting these ingredients seeing if i can turn this into a multi use go to batter. For new bakers this recipe is a definite must, it's very forgiven with great results, what more could any baker want to boost their confidence. Instant gratification!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Excellent! I was a little worried because the batter was very thin, however, it baked beautifully and was so easy! Not to mention delisous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have mixed feelings about this cake. The first time I made it I baked it in a 13x9 inch pan. It overflowed all over my oven. In spite of that, it was delicious in the end. Today I made it in 2 8 inch layers, but put it on a cookie sheet, just in case. It is currently in the oven and has overflowed the pans again. What am I doing wrong? I can only hope that the cake ends up cooked and edible. I followed the recipe as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My kids just loved the cake and decided to decorate it by themselves thanks for the recipe it really works good i added some frosting though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I had to cook this so much longer than the recipe instruction states; maybe because I used a narrow tin and the middle took ages to cook. It was getting very brown on top so I covered it in foil to cook it further without burning it. It was worth the wait. Absolutely delicious, dangerously delicious! I ended up giving some away as I knew I could easily eat the lot in one day!! I halved the ingredients and used a little less liquid plus I covered it with creamy chocolate frosting. Will make again when I crave that chocolate hit - was as good if not better that a professional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Preferred Chocolate Cake Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It came out wrong TWICE!!!!!!!!!! Very upset with how it came out, first time 50 minutes rolled by and it still wasnt fully baked!!!! second time same thing so i turned up the heat and it came out falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was fantastic. So wonderfully moist, which lasted for days! I can't wait to make again. I went light on the strength of the coffee, I didn't want to overwhelm the cake with an all coffee flavor, but I barely even tasted it. However, when I make it again, I will increase the strength of the coffee just a bit. Of course this is my preference. This is definitely my go to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fierimonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States