Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was fantastic. So wonderfully moist, which lasted for days! I can't wait to make again. I went light on the strength of the coffee, I didn't want to overwhelm the cake with an all coffee flavor, but I barely even tasted it. However, when I make it again, I will increase the strength of the coffee just a bit. Of course this is my preference. This is definitely my go to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fierimonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Definitely the best chocolate cake recipe I've used. Keeping this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
moist and tasty, not too sweet which we like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have not tasted this , but according to the sweet tooth in the house , it is very good and moist . I first made it because it only called for 2 eggs ( we were low ) , and there is always left over coffee . I have made it twice , and both times it turned out great . I bake in a very well greased and floured bundt pan , for about 50 - 70 mins. I don't know what size pan it is . ( my bad ) . No frosting either time . The first one we drizzled with a caramel sauce . The second one just sprinkled with powdered sugar . No fuss . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe and it was a great winner at a birthday party. Is there a way we can make a white cake just as moist as this chocolate cake. Any help or advise greatly appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Good recipe...very moist. Not very rich chocolate though. It turned out tasting like a devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried it its really good with white icing and milk chocolate chips as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This cake is incredibly quick and easy to prep (compared to other scratch cakes). Since it is oil-based, it is the perfect cake to make if you are trying to surprise someone sleeping in the same house; you can make this cake very quietly without an electric mixer. It is very moist and delicious, and doesn't stick to the pan like other butter-based cakes that seem to take a lot more work. I frosted it with vanilla buttercream frosting by doing a "crumb coat" first since the crumbs are very dark (i.e., thinly frosting the cake, freezing it a little, and then frosting it thickly once the crumb coat hardened somewhat). My office thought the cake was very delicious and every crumb was gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is an excellent cake, just like the one that my grandmother use to make. I did add 1 cup of buttermilk and very strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt pan which took about 50 minutes. This one is a keeper. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is by far the best chocolate cake I have ever baked! It is VERY moist and so easy to put together. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I baked it in three nine-inch cake pans. There is no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States