Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brenna
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Amazingly delicious!!! Makes about 45 mini cupcakes but we overfilled them a little so more like mini muffins?? we paired with Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting from this website. Most broke in half when I tried to take them out of the pan cause we didn't have any liners so I put icing in the middle and stuck them together?? DO NOT SKIP THE COFFEE I am not a coffee lover but this didn't taste like it at all! I used a medium roast coffee. Delicious moist and yummy tastes like you cheated and made a instant cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I used one 10 1/2 inch pan and baked for five minutes longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Amazing recipe! I do not like coffee so I did it without the coffee and it was amazing. It was delicious and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikayla Udy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Perfect! I was looking for a cake to make for my daughter's birthday party and this was exactly what I wanted. I made the cake exactly as is, and it was moist and delicious. I added chocolate frosting, but next time I will use vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Made as written. It is very moist and chocolatey. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Yes I doubled the recipe and added an extra tsp of vanilla and I also added an extra half a cup of vegetable oil. The cake was very moist and you can mess it up .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Well grandpop sure knows his way around the kitchen! My family loves this cake!... I made it for an office party at my mothers work and she said her co workers raved about this cake! Grandpop you got a good thing going here. Thank you for sharing it with my family. I plan to keep this recipe around for generations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is the best chocolate recipe I have EVER made from scratch. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I made it for my birthday and everyone loved it!!! So easy to make with such simple ingredients, but the best flavor imaginable. This is my favorite cake recipe and is a must try. Thanks to whoever put this recipe on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe creates the most awesome cake! I followed recipe amounts substituting cake flour for the AP, and unsalted, butter for the oil, as these are what on hand. Plus i cut the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of the two called for, we thought it was penty sweet, especially when paired with a chocolate buttercream frosting. I have been searching for a cake recipe from scratch that would produce a moist, light, fluffy cake (i hate dense baked goods) and this is by Far the best scratch recipe i have ever used! It will be my number one cake recipe from now on ! I am thinking i could use this recipe for other flavors, that is my next baking project- adapting these ingredients seeing if i can turn this into a multi use go to batter. For new bakers this recipe is a definite must, it's very forgiven with great results, what more could any baker want to boost their confidence. Instant gratification!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Excellent! I was a little worried because the batter was very thin, however, it baked beautifully and was so easy! Not to mention delisous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States