Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have mixed feelings about this cake. The first time I made it I baked it in a 13x9 inch pan. It overflowed all over my oven. In spite of that, it was delicious in the end. Today I made it in 2 8 inch layers, but put it on a cookie sheet, just in case. It is currently in the oven and has overflowed the pans again. What am I doing wrong? I can only hope that the cake ends up cooked and edible. I followed the recipe as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My kids just loved the cake and decided to decorate it by themselves ??????thanks for the recipe it really works good ??i added some frosting though ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I had to cook this so much longer than the recipe instruction states; maybe because I used a narrow tin and the middle took ages to cook. It was getting very brown on top so I covered it in foil to cook it further without burning it. It was worth the wait. Absolutely delicious, dangerously delicious! I ended up giving some away as I knew I could easily eat the lot in one day!! I halved the ingredients and used a little less liquid plus I covered it with creamy chocolate frosting. Will make again when I crave that chocolate hit - was as good if not better that a professional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Preferred Chocolate Cake Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It came out wrong TWICE!!!!!!!!!! Very upset with how it came out, first time 50 minutes rolled by and it still wasnt fully baked!!!! second time same thing so i turned up the heat and it came out falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was fantastic. So wonderfully moist, which lasted for days! I can't wait to make again. I went light on the strength of the coffee, I didn't want to overwhelm the cake with an all coffee flavor, but I barely even tasted it. However, when I make it again, I will increase the strength of the coffee just a bit. Of course this is my preference. This is definitely my go to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fierimonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Definitely the best chocolate cake recipe I've used. Keeping this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
moist and tasty, not too sweet which we like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have not tasted this , but according to the sweet tooth in the house , it is very good and moist . I first made it because it only called for 2 eggs ( we were low ) , and there is always left over coffee . I have made it twice , and both times it turned out great . I bake in a very well greased and floured bundt pan , for about 50 - 70 mins. I don't know what size pan it is . ( my bad ) . No frosting either time . The first one we drizzled with a caramel sauce . The second one just sprinkled with powdered sugar . No fuss . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe and it was a great winner at a birthday party. Is there a way we can make a white cake just as moist as this chocolate cake. Any help or advise greatly appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States