Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
awesome recipe, really easy for a first time candy cook. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These are always excellent!!! I use 3 bags of microwave popcorn and wait just long enough after completely the cooking process for the sugar to cool enough to keep from burning and they roll up perfectly well. I do NOT wait until the hard crack stage, as I wanted popcorn balls which are not difficult to eat. Another thing... I do not cook past the soft butter yellow coloring...once it starts to turn clear, then beginning browning, it's well past the point of it staying soft for popcorn balls. Everyone loves, loves, LOVES this recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
One thing just made another batch i used 2-1/2 bags of microwave popcorn this time but after reading the reviews some asked how many cups is 5 qts. i would say 12 but the way i measured it was using my kool-aid pitcher and i used 2 1/2 of those since i know it is 2 qts. and i made roughly 14 balls each time. The bag of popcorn each bag was 5 cups popped popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made these for halloween this year and they were very good. not enough candy for all popcorn, so I made an extra batch and colored it blood red and pored over the balls I already had balled up for a bloody effect and poured the rest into the corn w/ no candy. Good. the second batch I added salt and more vanilla and to me it tasted like worthers original candy(my fav) so I'm gonna try again just for candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsdarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tellico Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
these are very good!! i made them at halloween for the kids party. everyone loved them but i did not go all the way to the hard crack stage i went just below it and they turned out great it was more chewy than crunchy. i am going to try the crunchy ones as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was very sweet. I had a hard time figuring out how much 5 quarts of popcorn was unpopped. (I didn't have microwave popcorn, so I couldn't use others' reviews of how much.) I found one person had said that they used 1/2 cup of kernals, so that is what I used. I didn't have near enough popcorn. Next time I make it I will try at least 1 cup un-popped kernals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
These came out o.k. but my problem was that the balls didn't get evenly enough coated with the glaze. Someone suggested to use 5 bags of popcorn & that was too much. I'd start with 3 bags & add 4 if it needs more. Also, the balls set up so fast that I would highly recommend having another person helping shape balls because the time before set-up is so limited. I took another persons suggestion & shaped them in the sink which worked great. I also took another persons suggestion & made jack-o-lanterns out of them by adding orange food coloring, tying them with green pipecleaners, an drawing faces on the wrappers. They were cute, but a little tough to draw faces because of the bumpiness. Finally, i didn't have a candy thermometer, so I used ANOTHER persons suggestion & used the ice water method to test the glaze and that worked greaT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made these yesturday and this morning have had 4 for breakfast! I wanted a more carmely popcorn ball but these are really addictive,chewy and good! I used 4 bags of microwave popcorn and the liquid covered just perfectly and coated great. I followed recipe exact and I would give these 5 but the amount this makes just has to be off. I ended up with 30 huge size popcorn balls. 10 would have been more like it since the kids thought they were too sticky to eat except my 2 year old and I'm eating them like crazy. I'd make again but I would definately 1/2 the recipe or wait to take to some event not just for 4 boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These are wonderful and easy to make. If the popcorn balls didn't stick together or were mushy as some of you are saying,maybe the sugar mixture wasn't up to the right temperature. They turned out perfectly for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
i was worried because they looked a little darker in the photo, but they turned out great! using plastic bags on my hands instead of buttering them worked very well. I also recommend forming them into balls as quickly as possible. They were much more pliable, were able to be smushed together, and held their form. I took them to a Halloween party and they were a huge success! I used non-dairy margarine in place of the butter with no problems. Unpopped, I used 1 cup of corn kernels, but could probably have done another quarter of a cup with the amount of syrup I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States