Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
i have tried this 3 times and each time once the sugar mixture hardens it turns into a sugary mess. the taste when its hot is to die for. if you are a newer cook like me and have a difficulty with hard/soft boil stages i would recommend trying this recipe prior to when you want to serve them. as they have proven non dependable on 3 occasions for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very yummy, though quite sweet. I wish I knew how to make it the same flavor but not quite as sweet... I've also used this recipe with brown sugar in place of white, and it makes for delicious caramel balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made these for favors at a baby shower (along with Gourmet Caramel Apples) so to make them a little more festive I colored the caramel pink with food coloring gel. They were really cute. I don't recommend letting them sit for 5 minutes as I had a hard time getting the last few balls to hold together because it had gotten too cool. Work fast!! I got 12 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I didn't like these too much. They were soggy after a while. But the other girls at my slumber party LOVED them! Still, very easy! They are just like rice crispie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
These were sooooo good. I used vanilla, but want to try it with the vinegar. I thought they tasted better the next day. Some reviews said the popcorn mixture stuck to the bowl. I sprayed the bowl with pam spray before putting the popcorn in it. The popcorn mixture did not stick to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I couldn't believe how easy and fun these were to make. I think these may become a tradition with my family. The kids really enjoyed making and shaping the balls. I put a little twist to them, I split the popcorn and did half with honey roasted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These were the hit of the Halloween party! My husband said they were the best popcorn balls he has ever had. Tip for beginners: any time you cook sugar, use a pot that is much much larger than what you may think you need. It will bubble up and boiling sugar is not fun to scrape off of a stovetop and could cause serious injury to your hands. I learned this the hard way making jelly for the first time. You could also make these caramel popcorn balls by substituting 1c of the white sugar for 1c of brown. It takes 4 regular sized bags of microwave popcorn to make 5 quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Wonderful popcorn balls. If you want easy clean up, mix the popcorn and candy in a metal bowl. When you are all done fill the bowl with hot water and boil it on the stove. It dissolves all the candy. You can do the same with the pot. Enjoy them I know we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
so simple to make. came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGuru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States