Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were a cinch to make. I don't see how anyone had problems?? I used a large le creuset pot to pop the corn then stirred in the candy mix using the popping pot as it was greased already. You absolutely have to wait until the candy gets to hard crack, this WILL take a half hour or so. Also, if it is humid outside don't bother. Humidity in the air keeps the moisture level too high for the sugar to reach hard crack stage. Sugar gets hotter as the moisture evaporates, when it is humid in the air this wont happen, or happen properly. That could be the problem for some. You really do need a candy thermometer to be successful with these. Also, please wait about a half an hour before eating and they shouldn't stick in your teeth, they take a bit of time to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIE10857

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Took a LONG time to get to the "hard crack" stage, but having reached it eventually, the end result is correct (crunchy balls with a little chew left in the finish). Recipe says "salt to taste". I followed the 3 tsp recommendation of another reviewer and found them WAAAAAAY too salty - and I LIKE sweet-salty combos!!! Now I have a batch of (to me) barely edible balls. I even tried to dust them with sugar to even out the salty edge. My 4 yr old doesn't even care for them. I think my 16 year old and his budz will find a way to mow through them, however. Next batch = WAAAY less salt! BTW, the I made 2 batches of 1/2 cup uncooked popcorn (1cup total), and could have used more popped corn. I lost some syrup to boil over, and still had more syrup-to-popcorn ratio than I would have preferred. Depends how candy covered you like your popcorn. Next time I think I'll do two 3/4 cup (unpopped) batches. May take some experimentation to balance the flavor and ratios "to taste".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. A lot of work for a hard ball of popcorn and syrup that gets stuck in your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
AWESOME! This reminds me of eating crunch n munch butter toffee flavored popcorn. I used 1 bag of butter microwave popcorn and achieved the perfect balance of sweet and salty and butter taste. I ate more than my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I did half brown sugar instead of all white sugar to give it a caramel flavor/look and it was great. I also did not use the vinegar. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Just made today.I tasted the syrup with a piece of popcorn early on. Was so excited about the old fashioned flavor. Unfortunately,recipe has you add vanilla at the end..that totally changed the flavor to a likeness of Cracker Jacks. Bummer.Perhaps adding vinegar would have mellowed it out.(I didn't have any)Be very careful while handling the hot syrup as some got on my thumb giving me a blister. It is hard to incorporate syrup to all pieces of popcorn,but mine held together for most of it. I popped 2 bags of micro popcorn,was just the right amount.I put the loose popcorn stragglers in a baggie as kettle corn.Thank your Grandpa for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good...I just finished making them, and I am eating the first one. I wasnt sure about the 'vanilla OR vinegar' thing, so I added both....very tasty, and it ended up making 18 3" balls....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I liked these a lot, made tonight. I guess my mother never cooked the syrup and sugar as long as this recipe calls for. When the balls cooled they were so hard. I guess some like it this way, I just preferred them more chewy. Next time I will take the syrup off the stove before it gets to that hard point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe. My father and I use an air popper, and pop plain popcorn kernels. We use our sink to pop all of the pop corn into, and then we pour the sugar over it while it's in the sink. It's important butter (or spray Pam) onto any surface you're going to be making the popcorn balls in. I like to have a bowl of ice water handy to dip my hands into while I'm making the popcorn balls so that the sugar doesn't burn me too badly. But when you're working with hot sugar, it's pretty much inevitable. And just for reference, don't quadruple the recipe. We tried that, and we had to use our very biggest pot, and it took FOREVER to get it to 300 degrees. And also make sure all the popcorn gets coated in the sugar, or pieces will be falling of everywhere. I love this recipe! It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Lea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I found this recipe was a little too sweet for my tastes, still was quite very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States