Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Crazy good. The caramel doesn't dry coat the popcorn. It remains chewy and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The flavor was good, but these were so hard (followed directions of cooking to hard crack) that they can break your teeth! We had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe was awesome and so easy. I was craving caramel popcorn one evening and decided to make these. I used brown sugar instead of white and omitted the vinegar. I also used microwave popcorn, a 3.5 bag makes 10.5 cups of popped corn so I popped 2 bags. I also did not feel like making balls so I buttered a 9x13 pan, spread out my popped corn and just poured the syrup over the corn. I also used a candy thermometer in combination with the ice water test because at hard ball stage the syrup still was not hard enough. Will definitely keep this for future use!!! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Best recipe ever. Easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These turned out great! Good thing I tested to see if it was ready using the ice water method because my candy thermometer turned out to be broken. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As other reviewers noted, the temperature is way too high. I used a candy thermometer and at 300 the syrup was very dark and burned. The balls are a bit too hard and have a smoky, burned flavor to them. I'll try a lower temperature next time. That said, this recipe definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
this is the second recipe i tried and it was absolutly perfect and exactly what i wanted!!! thank you soooo much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
A nice recipe, but something was lacking a little in the flavor for me. Perhaps next time I'll use brown sugar instead of white sugar. I used about 1 1/4 cup unpopped popcorn to get 5 quarts of popped. I also greased my hands with butter prior to shaping the balls...this seemed to help a lot. After shaping the balls, I placed them on waxed paper so they wouldn't stick. I got about twenty 3-inch balls in the end. Will probably be making these again ~ kids love'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Super easy and delicious; I had a hard time getting the balls to stay together so I'm not sure if it was something I did or if the recipe directions were lacking. It was my first attempt and I'll definitely try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A couple of hints. POPCORN: Pop it first and keep the correct amount in large bowl in a warm oven. Get the bowl hot as well. CARAMEL (1) stir sugar/butter mixture constantly over medium high heat until it begins to foam. Once foaming, leave it alone except for the occasional slow stir. (2) it needs to boil several minutes longer than you think.. the caramel will look ready, but if it hasn't reached the proper stage, it will turn to fudge instead of candy when it cools. (3) once it has reached the stage you are after (I like taffy stage) remove from heat, add vanilla ans stir slowly. (4) This is NOT THE TIME for KIDS to help. The hot caramel is extremely dangerous and will burn to the bone -- pour mixture onto the popcorn. Mix with two long handled wooden spoons. Be careful to not get your hands into the hot caramel. (5) Let the popcorn cool to the point where you can handle it with bare hands. Cover your hands with butter and begin forming balls. (This is where kids can safely help, just be sure they wash their hands first!). (6) You will need at least one helper in order to get all the popcorn formed into balls before they harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States