Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These are wonderful and easy to make. If the popcorn balls didn't stick together or were mushy as some of you are saying,maybe the sugar mixture wasn't up to the right temperature. They turned out perfectly for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
i was worried because they looked a little darker in the photo, but they turned out great! using plastic bags on my hands instead of buttering them worked very well. I also recommend forming them into balls as quickly as possible. They were much more pliable, were able to be smushed together, and held their form. I took them to a Halloween party and they were a huge success! I used non-dairy margarine in place of the butter with no problems. Unpopped, I used 1 cup of corn kernels, but could probably have done another quarter of a cup with the amount of syrup I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
My kids wanted popcorn balls that they saw the the store, so I decided to make them while they were at school. I made them when the caramel was still a little soft, they seemed to stick together very well. I did not have enough corn syrup to make them so I found a substiution for it... for 1 cup of corn syrup use 1/4 Cup water and 1 Cup sugar. They loved them, especially my picky one who doesn't like popcorn. Now I have to make them for his Halloween party at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I have used the butter microwave popcorn about 5 bags. It is best if you put the popcorn in the micowave until the popcorn kernels pop until there is a 1-2-3 second delay of popping time space of time and take it out. I've made these many times and they are the best you can get. I use rubber gloves but I also butter the gloves and the spoon with a little butter. Not so sticky,and it works for me. They are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These popcorn balls taste just like a gourmet popcorn shop from back home. They really taste rich and buttery! We must have popped too much corn, because ours weren't covered as much as the photo. Does anyone know how many cups of unpopped kernels makes 5 quarts popped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I think your grandpa and my 92 year old grandma knew each other. She makes these every Christmas, two separate batches, one with green food color, and the other red. My 46 year old husband and 39 year old sister fight like kids over them every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The popcorn balls never became balls. I could not get them to stick together, and it was mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
The flavor of these is quite nice, however, I would reduce the cooking stage a bit if you are wanting softer popcorn balls. I got something more like candy popcorn, sort of Poppycock or Crunch in munch, without the nuts. It was still delicious, though! You may want to try this recipe a few times, as the firmness of a popcorn ball is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
My husband and I have burns on our hands from making the ball shapes... and I have a bowl that is virtually useless now because of the caked on carmel... but those things are absolutely worth it! I will definitely make these again - probably this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Very disappointed. I followed the recipe to the T and still they didn't turn out like I thought they would. The mixture tasted good but too hard to work with. The popcorn ball wasn't soft like I thought it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States