Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
We've been making these for years in our family and we love them. Now that we're older we have to be careful with not losing our crowns when eating them. After popping, shake the popcorn and all the hulls and seeds will go to the bottom, then avoid the popcorn on the bottom. One other tip, we rub a "little" Crisco or shortening on our hands when forming the balls. The popcorn is still hot to hold but much quicker and doesn't stick with the shortening on our hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were absolutely delicious !!!! And I assume the entire family thought so as well since I made a HUGE container full at Christmas and everytime I walked into the kitchen I noticed the popcorn balls kept disappearing. Worthy to note is the fact that they were on a level too high for the grandchildren to reach on their own so, unless there's a ghost in the house, I would have to assume that my grown children and their spouses were the chief suspects!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Wow! What a nice treat! The recipe was so easy and they taste just perfect. Remeber the ones you'd eat when you were a kid ? Well, these are them. I used leftover microwave popcorn (10 cups), cut the recipe in half (easier to work with), added salt ( a must), vanilla and NOT the vinegar. Thank you and we will use this recipe for years! Kristin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
i didn't really care for it. maybe i let the liquid boil too long or had too much popcorn, but it really wasn't that big of a hit with my company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was a disaster. The sticky stuff gets too hard too fast, and its so sticky that you'll think you're fillings are being ripped out. I'd recommend using something with a marshmellow base for an easier to work with consistency. Sorry gramps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were delicious! People said they tasted like cake. It was easy to figure out hard crack stage using the water method, dribbling some of the sugar mix into ice water and waiting until it instantly hardened. It took about 20-30 minutes though. It was hard to spread the mix over the popcorn. I used four bags. It kept collecting in one place and sticking to the bowl. The second batch I greased the bowl, and whatever wouldn't stick well enough for balls, I tossed some salt on and called kettle corn. Also, for VEGANS I used soy butter and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and only used one bag of microwave popcorn, however the popcorn seemed to be too weighed down by the mixture and would not stay as balls. They kept collapsing and were really hard to make, very messy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were good...I like mine sticky so I didn't let the sauce get to hard crackle stage. it was good and the vinigar does make a difference, it makes the sauce better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
There is nothing wrong with the recipe. It's fine, but these are a pain in the butt to make. It's messy. You have to burn your hands in order to form the balls while it's still pliable, and meanwhile the hulls are stabbing your palms. I think the syrup coated the popcorn a little too thickly, so next time I would use more popcorn and stir more thoroughly to coat better. They were yummy, but I think I'll stick to caramel corn instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are great, not too sweet cuz i love sweet. These were easy i did not have a candy thermometer so i did as the poster said with the waterbath. Also to anyone that wants to know how much popcorn is needed to make 5 quarts you will need to measure your kernals right in between 2/3 and 1 cup on a measuring cup. (4 quarts is 2/3 cup and 6 quarts is 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States