Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made these for favors at a baby shower (along with Gourmet Caramel Apples) so to make them a little more festive I colored the caramel pink with food coloring gel. They were really cute. I don't recommend letting them sit for 5 minutes as I had a hard time getting the last few balls to hold together because it had gotten too cool. Work fast!! I got 12 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I didn't like these too much. They were soggy after a while. But the other girls at my slumber party LOVED them! Still, very easy! They are just like rice crispie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
These were sooooo good. I used vanilla, but want to try it with the vinegar. I thought they tasted better the next day. Some reviews said the popcorn mixture stuck to the bowl. I sprayed the bowl with pam spray before putting the popcorn in it. The popcorn mixture did not stick to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I couldn't believe how easy and fun these were to make. I think these may become a tradition with my family. The kids really enjoyed making and shaping the balls. I put a little twist to them, I split the popcorn and did half with honey roasted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These were the hit of the Halloween party! My husband said they were the best popcorn balls he has ever had. Tip for beginners: any time you cook sugar, use a pot that is much much larger than what you may think you need. It will bubble up and boiling sugar is not fun to scrape off of a stovetop and could cause serious injury to your hands. I learned this the hard way making jelly for the first time. You could also make these caramel popcorn balls by substituting 1c of the white sugar for 1c of brown. It takes 4 regular sized bags of microwave popcorn to make 5 quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Wonderful popcorn balls. If you want easy clean up, mix the popcorn and candy in a metal bowl. When you are all done fill the bowl with hot water and boil it on the stove. It dissolves all the candy. You can do the same with the pot. Enjoy them I know we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
so simple to make. came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGuru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This turned out perfect! Thanks for the review to insure we made it to the hard crack phase... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The taste is amazing, I used vinegar in it so it was more like kettle corn that caramel corn. HOWEVER the recipe never specified where to place the popcorn when you pour the sugar on it. I used the bowl I popped the corn in. BIG HARD MESS! I had to throw out 75% of it because it all stuck to the bowl. I am going to try it again because I want to master this classic snack, and I am going to put the corn on the cookie sheet I will place the balls on to cool that has been lined with a piece of parchment. I also got a tip from my Gramma, who used to make popcorn balls every year, butter your hands before shaping the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States