Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I'm not sure what happened, even though I used a candy thermometer they came out too chewy. The flavor was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delish! I didn't have light corn syrup so substituted pancake syrup which is mostly corn syrup anyway. It seemed to take quite a while to get to hard-crack stage - 8-10 minutes (I'm at 7000 ft of altitude so maybe that makes a differenece.) As another reviewer mentioned be careful when mixing into the popcorn. The syrup will give a nasty burn as it is supposed to stick and harden and is well past boiling temp. Instead of making into balls I just spread out in a single layer as 'caramel' corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
i made these last night. i find that the temperatyru is a bit high. i didn't leave it on till 300 because it looked like the sugar was darker and i was afaid the sugar and butter would burn. they were excellent,i will use theser again. thank you and merry christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Perfect! Just what I was looking for. My Pyrex measuring cup has multiple measurements and according to it, 5 quarts equals 20 cups and that amount was perfect. I didn't wait to start forming, used all the mix and got 35 balls. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I make these every year for a fund raiser. I Never take any home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were absolutely wonderful. They tasted like crunch and munch without the nuts. The one bad thing is that I was making them with my 5 year old niece and they were way too hot for her to form into balls. They were also very very hard for her to eat. We ended up smashing up the balls into pieces which worked out very well. Delicioud recipe though and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishcheeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were awesome, next time I will double the recipe they were that good. Also they were easy to make!! Thank you for this recipe, I used to pay $7.00 for one of these at a specialty shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was not easy at all. I did everything and the popcorn would not stick together. It did not even look like a glaze anymore after pooring. It got like hard clumps of dry sugar after cooling. I tried to do it when it was still hot and it was burning my hands. Popcorn gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I am sure these are great and would love some advise. The first 2 or 3 minutes in the bowl, it all started to harden and I could not get it up into a ball. It was hard as a rock. I started making them into balls right away and only got a few done before it all stuck together and got hard. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Wow. These are so good!!! I never had a popcorn ball before and I now love them! I followed the recipe exactly, added both vanilla and vinegar. Salted my popcorn well and heated the candy to hard crack. YUM YUM YUM. My husband is nuts over them too!! I will be making these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarleland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States