Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
i made these last night. i find that the temperatyru is a bit high. i didn't leave it on till 300 because it looked like the sugar was darker and i was afaid the sugar and butter would burn. they were excellent,i will use theser again. thank you and merry christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Perfect! Just what I was looking for. My Pyrex measuring cup has multiple measurements and according to it, 5 quarts equals 20 cups and that amount was perfect. I didn't wait to start forming, used all the mix and got 35 balls. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I make these every year for a fund raiser. I Never take any home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were absolutely wonderful. They tasted like crunch and munch without the nuts. The one bad thing is that I was making them with my 5 year old niece and they were way too hot for her to form into balls. They were also very very hard for her to eat. We ended up smashing up the balls into pieces which worked out very well. Delicioud recipe though and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishcheeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were awesome, next time I will double the recipe they were that good. Also they were easy to make!! Thank you for this recipe, I used to pay $7.00 for one of these at a specialty shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was not easy at all. I did everything and the popcorn would not stick together. It did not even look like a glaze anymore after pooring. It got like hard clumps of dry sugar after cooling. I tried to do it when it was still hot and it was burning my hands. Popcorn gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I am sure these are great and would love some advise. The first 2 or 3 minutes in the bowl, it all started to harden and I could not get it up into a ball. It was hard as a rock. I started making them into balls right away and only got a few done before it all stuck together and got hard. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Wow. These are so good!!! I never had a popcorn ball before and I now love them! I followed the recipe exactly, added both vanilla and vinegar. Salted my popcorn well and heated the candy to hard crack. YUM YUM YUM. My husband is nuts over them too!! I will be making these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarleland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were a cinch to make. I don't see how anyone had problems?? I used a large le creuset pot to pop the corn then stirred in the candy mix using the popping pot as it was greased already. You absolutely have to wait until the candy gets to hard crack, this WILL take a half hour or so. Also, if it is humid outside don't bother. Humidity in the air keeps the moisture level too high for the sugar to reach hard crack stage. Sugar gets hotter as the moisture evaporates, when it is humid in the air this wont happen, or happen properly. That could be the problem for some. You really do need a candy thermometer to be successful with these. Also, please wait about a half an hour before eating and they shouldn't stick in your teeth, they take a bit of time to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIE10857

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Took a LONG time to get to the "hard crack" stage, but having reached it eventually, the end result is correct (crunchy balls with a little chew left in the finish). Recipe says "salt to taste". I followed the 3 tsp recommendation of another reviewer and found them WAAAAAAY too salty - and I LIKE sweet-salty combos!!! Now I have a batch of (to me) barely edible balls. I even tried to dust them with sugar to even out the salty edge. My 4 yr old doesn't even care for them. I think my 16 year old and his budz will find a way to mow through them, however. Next batch = WAAAY less salt! BTW, the I made 2 batches of 1/2 cup uncooked popcorn (1cup total), and could have used more popped corn. I lost some syrup to boil over, and still had more syrup-to-popcorn ratio than I would have preferred. Depends how candy covered you like your popcorn. Next time I think I'll do two 3/4 cup (unpopped) batches. May take some experimentation to balance the flavor and ratios "to taste".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States