Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
went and bought a candy thermometer took it all the way to hard crack stage. Syrup was then dark and popcorn balls taste burnt. Fail....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
For those that like less sweet popcorn balls: omit the vanilla and the vinegar. add an extra 4-6 cups of popcorn to the 5 quart (20 cup) recipe. This worked fantastic for us! I did NOT use a thermomater for these... you need to reach hard crack WITHOUT over cooking, and sometimes the thermometer is not as effective as dropping into a cold glass of water. when it comes to a frothing boil to see where you are... if you can push it around into a ball but its still squishy its soft ball... if you can push it into a ball and it then gets hard its hard ball... and if you push it into a ball and it then crackles up or you can't quick get it into a ball before it crackles up its PERFECT. Mine did NOT turn brown before it reached this stage and in my skilled took only 5-10 minutes. They formed nice firm balls without breaking your teeth. I cooked in very large cast iron skillet with tall 4 1/2" sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
DON'T go for hard crack stage on the caramel sauce if you like CHEWY popcorn balls! The first two batches I made I waited for hard crack stage and the popcorn/caramel was terribly hard to mix and turned to hard candy right away. The balls did form nicely but when we went to eat them, we could only eat 1/2 before the caramel stuck to our teeth in a death grip/filling wrenching way. No one ate more than 1/2 ball. The next batch I made I cooked the caramel to between soft and firm ball stage(240 F): the popcorn and caramel mixed well, the balls are nice and chewy though forming the balls was a bit tougher but with a little work and buttering your hands, you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good recipe and easy to do. I used butter microwave popcorn. Just watching to keep kernals out. I did leave out the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This has a very good taste, I had some trouble making the balls and so I will try again, recommend having someone stirring while you are pouring, to get it to mix correctly or it will go to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
It was good, but just wasn't sweet enough for me. My husband, who has little to no sweet tooth thought it was perfect, though...so I guess it depends on who you're making it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My toddler loved making these and then eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very addictive p-corn balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I'm not sure what happened, even though I used a candy thermometer they came out too chewy. The flavor was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delish! I didn't have light corn syrup so substituted pancake syrup which is mostly corn syrup anyway. It seemed to take quite a while to get to hard-crack stage - 8-10 minutes (I'm at 7000 ft of altitude so maybe that makes a differenece.) As another reviewer mentioned be careful when mixing into the popcorn. The syrup will give a nasty burn as it is supposed to stick and harden and is well past boiling temp. Instead of making into balls I just spread out in a single layer as 'caramel' corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States