Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
My kids wanted popcorn balls that they saw the the store, so I decided to make them while they were at school. I made them when the caramel was still a little soft, they seemed to stick together very well. I did not have enough corn syrup to make them so I found a substiution for it... for 1 cup of corn syrup use 1/4 Cup water and 1 Cup sugar. They loved them, especially my picky one who doesn't like popcorn. Now I have to make them for his Halloween party at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I have used the butter microwave popcorn about 5 bags. It is best if you put the popcorn in the micowave until the popcorn kernels pop until there is a 1-2-3 second delay of popping time space of time and take it out. I've made these many times and they are the best you can get. I use rubber gloves but I also butter the gloves and the spoon with a little butter. Not so sticky,and it works for me. They are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These popcorn balls taste just like a gourmet popcorn shop from back home. They really taste rich and buttery! We must have popped too much corn, because ours weren't covered as much as the photo. Does anyone know how many cups of unpopped kernels makes 5 quarts popped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I think your grandpa and my 92 year old grandma knew each other. She makes these every Christmas, two separate batches, one with green food color, and the other red. My 46 year old husband and 39 year old sister fight like kids over them every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The popcorn balls never became balls. I could not get them to stick together, and it was mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
The flavor of these is quite nice, however, I would reduce the cooking stage a bit if you are wanting softer popcorn balls. I got something more like candy popcorn, sort of Poppycock or Crunch in munch, without the nuts. It was still delicious, though! You may want to try this recipe a few times, as the firmness of a popcorn ball is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
My husband and I have burns on our hands from making the ball shapes... and I have a bowl that is virtually useless now because of the caked on carmel... but those things are absolutely worth it! I will definitely make these again - probably this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Very disappointed. I followed the recipe to the T and still they didn't turn out like I thought they would. The mixture tasted good but too hard to work with. The popcorn ball wasn't soft like I thought it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
We loved this recipe. I made a few batches for my preschooler to take to his Halloween party. We wrapped them in cellophane and tied them up with green pipe cleaners. I then attatched a green tag cut like a leaf saying Happy Halloween from my son. Next we curled up the pipe cleaners on a pencil to resemble a vine. Finally, we took a sharpie marker and made a jack-o-lantern face. These were so fun!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Top, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
These are perfect! Just like the ones mom made growing up. I make these for my Halloween Party every year and there are never any left over. If you have a vacuum Food Saver, these will keep for several days as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States