Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
There is nothing wrong with the recipe. It's fine, but these are a pain in the butt to make. It's messy. You have to burn your hands in order to form the balls while it's still pliable, and meanwhile the hulls are stabbing your palms. I think the syrup coated the popcorn a little too thickly, so next time I would use more popcorn and stir more thoroughly to coat better. They were yummy, but I think I'll stick to caramel corn instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These are great, not too sweet cuz i love sweet. These were easy i did not have a candy thermometer so i did as the poster said with the waterbath. Also to anyone that wants to know how much popcorn is needed to make 5 quarts you will need to measure your kernals right in between 2/3 and 1 cup on a measuring cup. (4 quarts is 2/3 cup and 6 quarts is 1 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
awesome recipe, really easy for a first time candy cook. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These are always excellent!!! I use 3 bags of microwave popcorn and wait just long enough after completely the cooking process for the sugar to cool enough to keep from burning and they roll up perfectly well. I do NOT wait until the hard crack stage, as I wanted popcorn balls which are not difficult to eat. Another thing... I do not cook past the soft butter yellow coloring...once it starts to turn clear, then beginning browning, it's well past the point of it staying soft for popcorn balls. Everyone loves, loves, LOVES this recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
One thing just made another batch i used 2-1/2 bags of microwave popcorn this time but after reading the reviews some asked how many cups is 5 qts. i would say 12 but the way i measured it was using my kool-aid pitcher and i used 2 1/2 of those since i know it is 2 qts. and i made roughly 14 balls each time. The bag of popcorn each bag was 5 cups popped popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made these for halloween this year and they were very good. not enough candy for all popcorn, so I made an extra batch and colored it blood red and pored over the balls I already had balled up for a bloody effect and poured the rest into the corn w/ no candy. Good. the second batch I added salt and more vanilla and to me it tasted like worthers original candy(my fav) so I'm gonna try again just for candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsdarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tellico Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
these are very good!! i made them at halloween for the kids party. everyone loved them but i did not go all the way to the hard crack stage i went just below it and they turned out great it was more chewy than crunchy. i am going to try the crunchy ones as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was very sweet. I had a hard time figuring out how much 5 quarts of popcorn was unpopped. (I didn't have microwave popcorn, so I couldn't use others' reviews of how much.) I found one person had said that they used 1/2 cup of kernals, so that is what I used. I didn't have near enough popcorn. Next time I make it I will try at least 1 cup un-popped kernals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
These came out o.k. but my problem was that the balls didn't get evenly enough coated with the glaze. Someone suggested to use 5 bags of popcorn & that was too much. I'd start with 3 bags & add 4 if it needs more. Also, the balls set up so fast that I would highly recommend having another person helping shape balls because the time before set-up is so limited. I took another persons suggestion & shaped them in the sink which worked great. I also took another persons suggestion & made jack-o-lanterns out of them by adding orange food coloring, tying them with green pipecleaners, an drawing faces on the wrappers. They were cute, but a little tough to draw faces because of the bumpiness. Finally, i didn't have a candy thermometer, so I used ANOTHER persons suggestion & used the ice water method to test the glaze and that worked greaT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made these yesturday and this morning have had 4 for breakfast! I wanted a more carmely popcorn ball but these are really addictive,chewy and good! I used 4 bags of microwave popcorn and the liquid covered just perfectly and coated great. I followed recipe exact and I would give these 5 but the amount this makes just has to be off. I ended up with 30 huge size popcorn balls. 10 would have been more like it since the kids thought they were too sticky to eat except my 2 year old and I'm eating them like crazy. I'd make again but I would definately 1/2 the recipe or wait to take to some event not just for 4 boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States