Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This turned out perfect! Thanks for the review to insure we made it to the hard crack phase... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The taste is amazing, I used vinegar in it so it was more like kettle corn that caramel corn. HOWEVER the recipe never specified where to place the popcorn when you pour the sugar on it. I used the bowl I popped the corn in. BIG HARD MESS! I had to throw out 75% of it because it all stuck to the bowl. I am going to try it again because I want to master this classic snack, and I am going to put the corn on the cookie sheet I will place the balls on to cool that has been lined with a piece of parchment. I also got a tip from my Gramma, who used to make popcorn balls every year, butter your hands before shaping the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
We've been making these for years in our family and we love them. Now that we're older we have to be careful with not losing our crowns when eating them. After popping, shake the popcorn and all the hulls and seeds will go to the bottom, then avoid the popcorn on the bottom. One other tip, we rub a "little" Crisco or shortening on our hands when forming the balls. The popcorn is still hot to hold but much quicker and doesn't stick with the shortening on our hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were absolutely delicious !!!! And I assume the entire family thought so as well since I made a HUGE container full at Christmas and everytime I walked into the kitchen I noticed the popcorn balls kept disappearing. Worthy to note is the fact that they were on a level too high for the grandchildren to reach on their own so, unless there's a ghost in the house, I would have to assume that my grown children and their spouses were the chief suspects!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Wow! What a nice treat! The recipe was so easy and they taste just perfect. Remeber the ones you'd eat when you were a kid ? Well, these are them. I used leftover microwave popcorn (10 cups), cut the recipe in half (easier to work with), added salt ( a must), vanilla and NOT the vinegar. Thank you and we will use this recipe for years! Kristin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
i didn't really care for it. maybe i let the liquid boil too long or had too much popcorn, but it really wasn't that big of a hit with my company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was a disaster. The sticky stuff gets too hard too fast, and its so sticky that you'll think you're fillings are being ripped out. I'd recommend using something with a marshmellow base for an easier to work with consistency. Sorry gramps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were delicious! People said they tasted like cake. It was easy to figure out hard crack stage using the water method, dribbling some of the sugar mix into ice water and waiting until it instantly hardened. It took about 20-30 minutes though. It was hard to spread the mix over the popcorn. I used four bags. It kept collecting in one place and sticking to the bowl. The second batch I greased the bowl, and whatever wouldn't stick well enough for balls, I tossed some salt on and called kettle corn. Also, for VEGANS I used soy butter and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and only used one bag of microwave popcorn, however the popcorn seemed to be too weighed down by the mixture and would not stay as balls. They kept collapsing and were really hard to make, very messy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were good...I like mine sticky so I didn't let the sauce get to hard crackle stage. it was good and the vinigar does make a difference, it makes the sauce better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen

Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States