Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
AWEsome recipe!! I've made these to share at potlucks & people loved them! My variation was that I rolled them as mini balls, to be better served in a potluck-type setting, with so many other foods. One note from my personal experience, which may be a no-brainer for most, but not for me. :) These were so great while they were still warm, that I tried to rewarm the entire batch before taking them to the first potluck. DO NOT REWARM. This resulted in very chewy balls that, while delicious, were a hassle to eat. I took them cold to the second potluck and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious! Before I made this recipe I tried the Best Ever Popcorn Ball recipe posted on this site (because it was well reviewed and seemed faster), but ended up throwing them out - they just tasted like confectioners sugar. It is worth the extra time to boil the sugar to hard crack stage. These turned out crispy and light. I used both the vanilla and the vinegar. For the popcorn, I popped 1 cup of popcorn seeds, but ended up only using about 2/3 or 3/4 of the popcorn. To help shape them I started with buttered muffin tins. I scooped out the popcorn using a buttered 1/2 cup dry measure and pressed them into the muffin tins. After I had all the tins full, I reshaped the popcorn into rounder balls using my greased hands. This seemed to work well - it allowed me to portion out the popcorn while it was hot, and work them by hand before they got too cool to press into shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Crazy good. The caramel doesn't dry coat the popcorn. It remains chewy and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The flavor was good, but these were so hard (followed directions of cooking to hard crack) that they can break your teeth! We had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This recipe was awesome and so easy. I was craving caramel popcorn one evening and decided to make these. I used brown sugar instead of white and omitted the vinegar. I also used microwave popcorn, a 3.5 bag makes 10.5 cups of popped corn so I popped 2 bags. I also did not feel like making balls so I buttered a 9x13 pan, spread out my popped corn and just poured the syrup over the corn. I also used a candy thermometer in combination with the ice water test because at hard ball stage the syrup still was not hard enough. Will definitely keep this for future use!!! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Best recipe ever. Easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These turned out great! Good thing I tested to see if it was ready using the ice water method because my candy thermometer turned out to be broken. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As other reviewers noted, the temperature is way too high. I used a candy thermometer and at 300 the syrup was very dark and burned. The balls are a bit too hard and have a smoky, burned flavor to them. I'll try a lower temperature next time. That said, this recipe definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
this is the second recipe i tried and it was absolutly perfect and exactly what i wanted!!! thank you soooo much!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
A nice recipe, but something was lacking a little in the flavor for me. Perhaps next time I'll use brown sugar instead of white sugar. I used about 1 1/4 cup unpopped popcorn to get 5 quarts of popped. I also greased my hands with butter prior to shaping the balls...this seemed to help a lot. After shaping the balls, I placed them on waxed paper so they wouldn't stick. I got about twenty 3-inch balls in the end. Will probably be making these again ~ kids love'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States