Grandpa's Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My family really liked this recipe. I made it so that it was softer and more chewy (took it off the heat at 275 instead of 300). Just like the popcorn balls my family likes from the local candy shop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These are awesome! The only change I made, was I substituted the two cups of white sugar for one cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe! But you have to get the temp up to 300. To avoid those burnt fingertips use a large spoon to portion your balls immediately. You can then wait a minute or so to press them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Amazing.....This is about my third time ever making popcorn balls and this is by far the recipe to use, hands down....Fool proof, and the taste is just out of this world...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Fabulous recipe! It worked perfectly for me. The only thing that is off is how many popcorn balls the recipe says it makes. It claims to make 10 3in balls, but my son and I got 24. I'm pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
fun and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great taste. I cooked until the hard crack stage 300 degree F. I had to start forming the balls about one minute after mixing. Turned out great! FYI: 1/2 cup of unpopped corn = 5 qts. of popped corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars. Excellent! I grew up making crispy crunchy popcorn balls with my mom and detest the chewy caramel type. Mom never used butter in hers, the glaze was clear. That being said, these are FABULOUS! I just made a batch that are cooling on the counter and they turned out perfectly and taste terrific! I will make these again and again! Thanks! (As a side note, I did add the vinegar before I started cooking it, AND added the vanilla when it reached the hard crack stage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Really yummy!! I have made these 3 times and each time they disappear quickly. Great recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made smaller popcorn balls; consequently, I got about fourteen. To arrive at five quarts of popcorn, I used 3/4 cup of unpopped corn and 3 tablespoons of oil. These popcorn balls are just as I remembered as a child. They were fantastic. Caution: Use rubber gloves to form the balls or you will burn your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States