Grandpa's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent. First time making fudge. Improvised a bit last minute, cut back on the white sugar, only used about 1 & 1/2 cups, but still used the full 2 cups of brown. I used a whole jar (16.3 oz) of Skippy Creamy PB. I also added some flour to the mix (after melting sugar in pot) and in my case used white rice flour because my sister cannot eat wheat. I'm guessing I used around 1/4 cup of the flour, I just went with it... I didn't check the temp, just used my best judgement--I got it up to a boil and kept stirring. The mixture after a few minutes of a pretty good bubble started changing and I knew "it was getting there." I'd say I let it boil like that for at least 5 minutes... It started to burn on the bottom of pan so I took it off the stove... I used a whisk to stir and I beat the hell out of it for like 5 minutes. I felt like I was making caramel, and the bubbling brew reminded me of something you'd see at the Willy Wonka factory. Set it, forget it, and in 1 & 1/2 hours you're good to go. I was nervous it wouldn't come out good and that I would have wasted all that sugar and peanut butter, but fortunately it was freakin delicious I had some for breakfast. ;) Next time I'm going to cut down sugar even more.. I love fudge, but it's too sweet, all of it not just this recipe, but if you like it like that then use the full amount of sugar I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this recipe last night and it was absolutely the best peanut butter fudge ever! I looked for a recipe that did not use marshmallow fluff because I don't like that kind. This one had really good reviews so I tried it. I will use this recipe from now on!! I didn't follow the instructions exactly after learning a lot about fudge-making recently. I used a candy thermometer and boiled to 225 (mine is not accurate--about 7-10 degrees off). Then I cooled it before stirring the butter and vanilla in. Stirring in the same direction is something I had not heard before. I will try that when making chocolate fudge as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
followed recipe to the tee and it never did set up... however the sticky goo i tasted was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Thank you for your grandpa's peanut butter fudge recipe...it is hard to type this while I eat it! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this today instead of my regular recipe except I used crunchy P.B.instead of smooth. I'm an old time believer that cooked candies are much better than "easy recipe"candies and this is a good example. It came out great. Not too sweet or heavy.Will definetly use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This fudge is absolutely phenomenal. I was skeptical that the syrup mixture wouldn't cream up, but I put it in my Kitchen Aid along with the peanut butter and butter (the only substitute I used) and vanilla - it was great, I didn't time how long I had it beating but it was at least 6 minutes and then I poured it into a 9x13 pan. I can't stop eating it, in fact I need to make more because it's part of the goodie trays for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The flavor of this fudge is absolutely perfect. So "peanut buttery." I used a candy thermometer, and boiled to the softball stage. Mine turned out a little bit grainy. When I searched the internet, I found that once it reaches softball stage, fudge shouldn't be stirred again until the temperature drops to 110 F degrees. Crystals are important to fudge, but they start too soon if the fudge is stirred early. Next time, I will try this approach. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
thanks my dad used to love this wen he was growing up buh since his grandpa died he hasnt had it and this was te only thing he looked forward to for christmas and now i get to bring him back the holiday he will remember :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Before making this you should read what the others have shared as an easier route. I did this and found it very helpful. Make sure you have a candy thermometor and bring your mixture to an soft ball between temp. 235 no more than 240. Also an helpful hint was to spray your pot very lightly with a cooking spray along with your stir spoon of choice, this was a great tool. the sugar will stick to the side of your pan as it boils so this helps after cooking for an easier clean up. Once your mix is to temp. have your kitchen aid ready to go with the butter and vanilla and add your hot mixture to that and turn to speed 2 or 3 and check on it every 2 minutes to see is your mix is getting hard. I found in my kitchen aid the time was 14 minutes. Then I spread the mix on a wax paper lined (also spray very lightly with baking spray) smaller baking sheet. I left out on my counter until it was completly cooled, I lifted the wax paper and I cut into bit size pieces (using my pizza cutter) verses larger so I can gift out as gifts, using the smaller pans makes it thicker so if you cut small pieces you still get just enough in your mouth for a perfect bite. I freeze it until ready to hand out and it turns out perfect! Tastes great! You have to be willing to take the time this recipe needs, if you want to be quick in and out then try another recipe. I think some things don't need to be rushed and this is one of them. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
READ Reviews before making. This is great. I only gave it 4 stars though, because if you don't follow previous advise (boil to 234 to 240 degrees) this comes out very grainy. Also the use of a mixer for the last 3 ingredients (peanut butter, butter & vanilla) is a time saver on your arms. I made my first batch as written, and threw it out. Made the 2nd batch from reviews, and it is GREAT :) If you don't have a thermometer (mine is digital) bring to a GOOD boil, then keep boiling for a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States