Grandpa's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Thank you so much for submitting this recipe! This tastes exactly like the fudge I remember from childhood. It's also very easy to make, as I've never before made fudge. Thanks to all the reviewers who gave me some great tips to make this turn out so well! I would say definately use a candy thermometer. You can't go wrong that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I am the biggest fan of peanut butter. And this was fast and easy. The best combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwalal1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I hate giving this recipe two stars, but my fudge was hard and grainy. It still tasted good, but the texture wasn't that great...and I had a HARD time cutting it in the dish. I don't really know what happened, I followed the directions exactly. But this was my first time making fudge, so I'm sure that it was my error, but I don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was delicious!! I made it at home and my grandma loved it. It's hard to beat her peanut butter fudge, but I think I did. We just got back from N. Carolina and the family loved it!! It didn't last long so I had to make more. Here are some things that I did that you might try: If using Jiff peanut butter or any peanut butter that is a little more stiff and not so oily, add about 1/2 cup extra of peanut butter and a but more butter than called for. This will make it more creamy and smooth. I also add a bag of Peanut Butter Chips to the mix right before I pour it out so they don't melt all the way. This adds more flavor and gives you something to chew. I reserved a handful of the chips to sprinkle on top of the fudge and lightly pressed them down into the top. When using a pan to boil the fudge make sure it is a burn proof pan. I made the mistake of using a pan that wasn't scorch proof and it changes the flavor. Also, don't let the fudge get too stiff when you are stiring it to cool it down before you pour it, keep it a little more soft so that it pours easily and spreads evenly. This fudge tastes better if you let it set for about 3 days in an air tight container at room temperature. By this time it has had time to marinate and is much creamier. In N. Carolina the fudge didn't even get a chance to sit for a few days. I hope this helps. Thanks for a great recipe, I will be making this again and again. Especially when the holiday's come around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is the first time I've ever made fudge so I was very nervous but it turned out well. I used the Kitchenaid mixer as one user suggested and was able to do my clean up while the fudge essentially made itself (this was after the cooking stage which does require close attention). I used butter instead of margarine and used crunchy peanut butter which I wouldn't recommend, not because of the texture, I don't mind nuts in my fudge, but because peanuts have a very distinct flavor and they overwhelm the fudge more than walnuts or pecans would. Next time I'll try creamy as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I did not like this recipe at all. While it was cooling, it tasted great, but once cooled it was pure sugar! Too sweet. No one at my work or in my house wanted it. I would not recommened this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe was so easy, and the whole family loved it. I made a batch for dad on fathers day, he said it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harlan, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this recipe for co-workers about a year ago, and it was a hit. Very delicious, and so easy to make! I even caught some co-workers going back for thirds, so what does that say about the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluemonday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Oh, wow. This is just about perfect fudge. I poured it into a 7 x 11 pan and it made a ton, enough to make Christmas presents for three people. Everyone loved it. Sweet, creamy, rich, peanut buttery. I used crunchy peanut butter, which I think was a bad decision, as it interrupted the texture in a way I didn't like. Next time, I'll use creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was the first time I have ever attempted to make fudge and I am so happy w/ this recipe. It turned out great, didn't take long to set up and was real easy to make. Taste awesome, too!!! Thx Grandpa;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States