Grandpa's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I am a first time fudge maker, this recipe was quick and easy. I did add an extra 1/2 cp of peanut butter and waited to add the peanut butter until after I brought the sugar & milk to 240. My husband went crazy over the fuge. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I just made this fudge and it is great! I followed other reviews and added the butter,vanilla, and peanut butter after I brought the milk and sugar to soft ball stage and removed from heat. I used my hand mixer on 1 for 5 minutes and 2 for 1 minute. The fudge isn't grainy at all and set beautifully. I did reduce the sugar by 1 cup total (1/2 white and 1/2 brown). Will definately make again and not use marshmallow cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I followed this recipe almost to a T WITHOUT a candy thermometer and barely any brown sugar, and i used homemade peanut butter. About the the balls in cold water, i think they're more like balls with tails, i just used a spoon to drop some into cold water and when it formed little balls with tails taht quickly sank to the bottom i thought it was time. I used 3 3/4 cups of white sugar and 1/4 of brown (lol, thats all i had left) and i added some molasses when i put everything in the pot. Other then than i followed everything, stirring the right way etc. And it turned out great. First time making fudge and i'm pretty satisfied. Not to mention this recipe is one of out of the 3 that DONT use offbeat ingredients that no one usually has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
it was a ok recipe but it wasnt harden after cooling and i try the recipe again and added 1 c of powder sugar and pour the fudge in a 9x13 glass cake pan and my goodness this was the best recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Peanut butter fudge has always been a tradition in our family, but when my great-grandmother died, the recipe was lost. Of all the recipes I have tried, this tastes the closest to what she made. I did however make changes. I do not add the peanut butter to the boiling mixture, I boil the sugar/milk on medium/high until it reaches soft ball stage (around 234 degrees); use a candy thermometer. I would not recommend just guessing with the soft ball stage unless you are truly a professional- fudge is extremely fickle and can turn out or not for even the most seasoned baker. As soon as that stage is reached, immediately take it off the stove and add the peanut butter/vanilla. I mixed with a regular mixer on low for around 6 minutes and it turned out perfect. Great recipe, the best I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good; but I wanted it with a more peanut butter taste and less grainy. My husband thought it was just what we were looking for. A little adjusting and it will be perfect. NOTE: this was not overly grainy, I just wanted it a little smoother than it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've never had peanut butter fudge so this was a nice surprise. After seeing that some reviewers ended up with hard, gritty fudge, I was worried about over cooking this, so I cooked it to 240 degrees on my candy thermometer and it was too soft. Perhaps a specific temperature would help people obtain the right fudge consistency. I don't know what it is, but it's more than 240 :) Anyhow, I ended up with a substance that tasted like and was the same consistency as peanut butter cookie dough. This recipe yields alot, it made a 7x11" pan and probably could be stretched to a 9x13" too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Thank you so much for submitting this recipe! This tastes exactly like the fudge I remember from childhood. It's also very easy to make, as I've never before made fudge. Thanks to all the reviewers who gave me some great tips to make this turn out so well! I would say definately use a candy thermometer. You can't go wrong that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I am the biggest fan of peanut butter. And this was fast and easy. The best combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwalal1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I hate giving this recipe two stars, but my fudge was hard and grainy. It still tasted good, but the texture wasn't that great...and I had a HARD time cutting it in the dish. I don't really know what happened, I followed the directions exactly. But this was my first time making fudge, so I'm sure that it was my error, but I don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States