Grandpa's Oyster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alymade
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is my first time making oyster soup and most likely not my last. I love the flavors and the simplicity of this soup. Probably one of the best seafood soups out there. I used a 16 oz bag of frozen oysters (just thawed in bag with a bowl full of water and drained in stainer to reserve juice) other than that followed recipe as is. Just wonderful, have to taste to understand. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Wow! Could eat this every day! Delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe was very tasty and uncomplicated to prepare. I used a dry white wine because I'm not crazy about sherry; I also used whole milk and half-n-half instead of the heavy cream, one tblsp of dried parsley (because that was what I had on hand) and garlic bread croutons....main meal with a salad....Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Love this. Oyster stew is a Christmas Eve tradition in our house too. I put a splash of worchestershire and tabasco sauce in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
We loved this! I had been using a recipe out of a cookbook and decided to give this one a try. I don't know Grandpa - but his oyster stew is fabulous! Two of us ate every last drop! We had fresh-harvested oysters from the Eastern shore and I also added just a pinch of Old Bay for some added flavor. We'll use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this for Christmas and it was a HUGE hit. We had a lot of oyster liquor, and I did not think we would use it all, but I really did end up needing it. I added a little bit of Old Bay but I didn't want to overpower the delicate flavor so it was just a pinch but it really made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I tried this recipe to use up the lightly cooked oysters left over from a New Year's oyster roast, and it was wonderful! I threw in a few small dried red chilis with the shallots (comparable to maybe 1/4 tsp chili flakes); that makes for a subtle addition that complements nicely. And I used abundant parsley. What a wonderful soup for January 2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Amazing just the way it is! My only change was a small dollop of butter on top at the time of serving and before putting on the paprika and sprinkling of parsley. Just amazing.....thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Really like the addition of sherry to seafood. Simple, but on the elegant side, too. I added a stalk of celery, minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I hadn't made oyster stew in years and lost my recipe. This was very good! I did add a little old bay and used minced onion in place of shallots. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stokes, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States