Grandpa's Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
The perfect recipe if you're looking for a quick and yummy guacamole. I didn't have much time and don't care for many of the mexican seasonings and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This guac is good for us, because my husband does not like tomatoes. I can't have cilantro, I'm allergic. We mixed 2 avocados w/ 1/2c sour cream, 2 tbls lime juice,, couple dashes of garlic salt... and it was amazing! I left out the ranch... didn't have any powder form. The lime juice keeps it from turning so dark the next day (or 2-3 days if you are lucky). I get creeped out by dark guac because it tastes stale to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I have a friend who is violently allergic to onions. When I’m trying to find “fun food” recipes for occasions when we are having a party, it’s difficult to find foods to accommodate all of the guests. Grandpa's Guacamole is wonderful as written, and I wouldn’t change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Stiewig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Really bland. Ranch made it to salty. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
SUPER EASY ... but ... it did taste kinda salty to me. And, I think I want to go with more fresh ingredients next time, so I will try another recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Rizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Instead of sour cream and dry Ranch mix, I just used bottled Ranch dressing. Don't forget to add a few drops of lime juice to the avocado to keep the color bright! Chopped tomatoes and green onion really added to the recipe. Didn't have tortilla chips, so used Town House crackers as dippers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe for "quick" avocado dip. This would be okay for a "what do I prepare?" for the office party. There are one or two drawbacks; one it is a bit salty for our tastes so backing off the Ranch dressing is in order; and two it could use a couple ounces of a good Salsa or Pico de Gallo. I'll try it again that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I loved it. It took me two minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay Langley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was okay, a little bland, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States